Skip to content

Organizer Envy

April 3, 2007

Tonight I met my friend Vanessa for dinner at the lovely German restaurant Suppenkuche. Although, practically speaking, there wasn’t much on the menu for me (who isn’t eating wheat or dairy or red meat or fish or anything fried) or Vanessa (who doesn’t eat meat either). Hello, it’s a German restaurant. So what did we have? Well, I decided to stick to my no-wheat thing and instead bent on the fried-and-dairy thing. So we had potato pancakes with fresh applesauce, some cream of asparagus soup, and some camembert with cranberry sauce. It was all really delicious, especially the asparagus soup. We were sharing everything but I would have gladly eaten the entire bowl.

Sadly, the beautiful bread and herbed butter went uneaten (by me).

Then we went to Vanessa’s house to have tea and continue catching up. Her apartment is so adorable and SO. ORGANIZED. I felt a little sheepish about my own somewhat-haphazard apartment. She and her husband live in a small one-bedroom apartment, organized within an inch of it’s life. Her drawers look like a Martha Stewart photo shoot, and I mean that in the nicest, most complimentary way. I think my drawers would be more at home in a ‘casual living’ magazine… meaning, they are sort of casually folded. Maybe more like vaguely. I thought about it on the way home. The thought of having my house that organized sounds nice, but in practice, I think it would make me anxious. I love to organize my drawers, but I hate feeling like I have to keep them perfectly neat. I just can’t do it. It’s just me — things are a little messy around the edges. That’s just how it is.

However, I sure like to go to her house and admire. It gives me ideas on how to finish cozy-ing up our place. A few more curtains, a few more paintings, an office re-do, maybe a rug. That’s about all it would take.

I have so many things I want to do. At Christmas I kept making the same to-do list over and over and over (lists of gifts to buy, projects to complete, tasks to accomplish). I find myself doing that with creative ideas, now. The same list, over and over. Work on website. Create some cards. Redesign blog. Make a website map. Write a business plan. File paperwork. Do paintings. Etc. Etc. Etc. So many fun, creative projects.

And yet, I find that all I really want to do right now is read a lot. And take pictures. And do some housework. I think I’m happy just letting the ideas turn around and around in my head, sorting themselves out. Maybe they’re not quite ready to come out. They will be. And I’ll be ready.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

