Skip to content

Finding My Center

April 25, 2007
Twilight Roses


I was thinking tonight about finding my center. I hear and read a lot about being happy where you are, wherever you are. Or, at least, being calm. Content. Happy with your lot, even though you may be planning and hoping and working for a different lot in the future — but experiencing the one you’re in right now.

I think that’s what I’m trying to learn right now. It’s great to plan for the future, and try lots of new things and grow and change and all that vital stuff. But I think it’s also really good to have a calm heart and peaceful soul in the midst of life doing that ‘life’ thing. I think about what my goals truly are: peace in my heart, health in my body and family, and contentment with my life. I don’t really care what the packaging looks like.

I spent February taking really good care of myself (or, trying to). I think I’d do an even better job now that my stress level has gone down some more (after a few more weeks of taking care of myself). I was thinking today that maybe for May, my little game I’ll play with myself is the “I Love My Job” game. Now, truly, I do like my job a lot. We’ve had our ups and downs together in the past 6 years, but it’s a pretty great job. But what if I loved my job and couldn’t wait to get there every day? What if I looked at all the frustrations and monotony and challenges as just part of a job that I loved? You know, like a relationship. You take the bad with the good and love them anyway.

So I think what I’m going to do in May is really focus on loving my job, being grateful, and having fun with it. Attack challenges. Make some new rules for myself. Change my own expectations. And if I’m going to complain, then really just go for it. Have some gusto at the workplace, for goodness sake. After all, I’m very lucky, and I know it. But does my job know it? Let’s change that for a month and see what happens.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

