Skip to content

Adventuring

July 8, 2007

If you don’t know the ins and outs of cat doings at our house, you won’t appreciate how adorable and unusual this photo is: Katie on the couch, looking out the window. Usually Katie is the Bed Cat. She pretty much stays in the bedroom, except for her evening stroll, where she takes a walk around the apartment and then comes back to bed. However, lately, for some reason, Katie has taken to hopping up on the couch every now and again. I say ‘hopping’ as if it’s as easy as that, but for a weakened, arthritic kitty, it shows considerable spunk to get up on the couch and then clamber up onto the squishy pillows to peek out the window.

It was an awfully cute suprise to come out into the living room last night and see her up there. We figured she just needed a little adventure; a change of pace.

That’s what we’re going to have today and tomorrow. We’re heading up to Cloverdale for an evening of ‘kamping’ with Erin and her girls. We’ve rented a KOA Kamping Kabin at the posh Cloverdale KOA (with it’s Wi-Fi, mini-golf, swimming pool, hot tub, and ping-pong) and then tomorrow we are off for an ‘authentic African Safari’ — in Santa Rosa. It’s sort of a quotation-mark kind of getaway, but it will be fun and a good little adventure (testing out the Coleman stove after sitting in storage for two years is always an adventure).

Ever since Terri finished up with Kaiser a week or so ago, we’ve been having lots of mini-adventures. Hopefully gearing up for a Real Adventure in the coming year: new job, hopefully a vacation in the spring (overseas?), planning for the future. Lots of good things. It’s an optimistic time, and I’m enjoying it.

Along with the optimism comes a desire for a Fresh Start, so we’ve been clearing out clutter everywhere. I dove into the garage on Friday, assembling shelving units and exploring boxes of stuff. I threw out a good amount, but amazingly, the more I sorted and shelved, the more the floor did NOT become clear. I don’t know what’s up with that. I’m trying to figure out how to configure it all so that most things are up off the ground. It’s actually not too bad, and I still have one shelf to put together, and my old baker’s rack is coming back to me from Shea and that will house not-often-used kitchen items, so that will help. I think most everything in there now are things that we want, use, or love (got rid of the broken laundry baskets, outdated globe, miles of mystery cables, and so forth) so I’m satisfied that even if it will take some creative thought, it will all fit nicely.

I’m reading Memoirs of Cleopatra. It is so interesting! Of course it’s written in ‘historical fiction’ style, but it’s also full of really fascinating facts about that period of time, and Alexandria, and the Ptolemic rulers. I had no idea that Cleopatra was actually Greek (Macedonian). How did I miss this fact? Of course if I think about it, I know Egypt was ruled by different nationalities over time (Greeks, Romans, Arabs), but I thought Cleopatra was Egyptian. Not so. The Ptolemies had been the ruling family for over 300 years at that time. It’s just fascinating. There’s a tour that goes from Greece to Turkey to Egypt; I think it needs to be on the list for consideration (whenever we get the opportunity to take our Real Vacation). I want to do more reading about Egypt’s history, especially now that Hapshetsut’s mummy has been found.

Anyway. Time to get things rolling.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

