Skip to content

Why Do You Blog?

August 6, 2007

(Yes, I’m still milking the cloud photos… haven’t quite got enough creative juice back to haul out the camera for new photos yet…)

Thanks to Andrea “Superhero” Scher for this post idea. Why do I blog? What, exactly, am I trying to accomplish?

Well, the first reason that comes to mind is to stay in touch with family and friends. I like being able to post photos and thoughts that wouldn’t ordinarily make it to an email or phone conversation. I like having a record, so if a long-lost friend finds me, they can find out what I’ve been up to. I like knowing that if someone has my blog address, they can check up on me even they’re not up for a phone call or email. I just like staying in touch with people, and this makes it a little easier.

But more than that, it’s about revealing thoughts and working out things that I wouldn’t normally just talk about in ordinary conversation. I’m an INFJ: there’s a lot going on under the surface, but sometimes it’s hard to express (more about INFJs here). So this blog is a way for me to try to express myself on a consistent basis. It’s a practice of revealing. Sometimes I do a better job of this than other times. But I’m usually trying to say something, or share some part of myself that I wouldn’t usually. Not all the time, of course. But usually, I’m trying to impart something of myself to the world.

My beloved therapist Betty Jo once told me that the point of therapy is to make the outside match the inside. I’ve mentioned this before. That’s another reason why I blog: to try and force myself to put some of the inside, on the outside. I know myself well enough to see that if I didn’t force myself to open up, I’d be like a little clam, all the time. It’s a point of bravery. Can I keep sharing stuff? I don’t know who all reads this, but I try to push myself sometimes and share things that I’m not entirely comfortable with. I need to do that more. I can’t be an open book; it’s just not who I am. But I want to have the pages more accessible, at least.

Another reason for blogging is artistic expression, especially since I got my camera. I really, really enjoy taking photos and then thinking about what post I’m going to write. I love this process. I want to get back in the habit of every day, or every other day. I think it’s good for me as an artist. It helps me to remember to look, to see.

I’d love to be one of those bloggers who has a new craft project to share every day, or whose posts are read by hundreds and passed along… but I know that many of my loved ones read my blog, and I know that even if no one read it, I’d still blog. I enjoy it. I like creating it. I like the process. Even if it were just for me, I’d still have fun doing it. I like writing, and I like making stuff, anything at all. The fact that anyone could randomly come across my little blog makes me happy. And I like being able to scroll back and see what I was thinking a few months ago.

I used to journal all the time. I filled three journals in Finland. Then, I stopped. I’ve tried to pick it up again over and over, but it just won’t stick. Blogging has stuck. Maybe I’ll start writing in a paper journal again, maybe not. But for now, blogging works for me. I have to process things enough to make them share-able, which is good. Otherwise they might just spin and spin and spin in my head. And, it’s my way of reaching out to family and friends and saying, I want to share. I know you to know me. Please read. And know that yes, I’m writing this for you.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

