Skip to content

Weekend

August 27, 2007

Walked out this morning,
Don’t believe what I saw
Hundred billion bottles washed up on the shore
Seems I’m not alone at being alone
Hundred billion castaways, looking for a home
I’ll send an s.o.s. to the world
I hope that someone gets my
Message in a bottle, yeah
–Message In A Bottle, The Police

I’ve read about this in The Artist’s Way before, and a few other places. It’s a God Jar (one of many names you could call it). Basically, when you’ve got something you feel you can’t handle, or are afraid of, or a prayer that needs answering, or a problem you can’t figure out, or anything else for which you need a miracle/answer/help… write it down, stick it in the jar, and forget about it. See what happens. It goes out to the universe, to God, to wherever. And then later, you can see how they’ve been taken care of. I made this jar today, with the intention of it being on ongoing art project. I just did the first stage today. And slipped in my first note. A request, sort of. It’s part of my process of trying to realize just how much I don’t have control over. A girl could use some divine help sometimes, you know?

It’s been a good weekend. Some art, some writing. Lots of laying around reading. Some eating. Some really really good homemade garlic bread (it’s PMS time, so all bets are off, wheat-wise). Some crying. Lots of laughing. We’re still tired, but it was good to just do a lot of nothing. And some soul-nourishing.

Terri’s making rice and tamales right now. She’s so fantastic.

For an update on what the kitties did this weekend, click here!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

