Skip to content

Halloween In Alameda

October 27, 2008

I think it’s fairly well-established by now that Halloween is my favorite holiday.

Apparently, it’s Alameda’s favorite holiday as well. One of the delights of living here is how enthusiastically people dress up their homes for the holidays, and they seem to go all-out for Halloween, even more than they do for the winter holidays.

Yesterday as I was walking around, I took some pictures of what people have done, and will post photos here all week.

This family seems to have taken the ‘orange’ theme a little literally. Orange house, orange pumpkin…

The central area of Alameda, called The Gold Coast area, is filled with beautiful Victorian houses. This is where the real trick-or-treating action takes place. We’ll be there Friday night with some friends, enjoying the night’s festivities vicariously through their little princess and bumblebee.

My wonderful friend Nicki gave me a new cookbook today, Pumpkins and Squashes. I’m going to make a roasted butternut squash and quinoa salad for dinner. I have about a half-hour before I need to start roasting the squash. That’s another half-hour of The Terror that I can fit in…

Football on the TV, a book on my lap, squash roasting in the oven… if only it weren’t 75 degrees outside. Oh well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

