Skip to content

Library Loot

January 8, 2009

Again, Eva has a great post. This week, it’s about Library Loot. Coincidentally, I just went to the library today and overindulged (is that possible, to overindulge at the library?). I just got a big list of recommendations from Dark Carnival and a couple of other sites, so I was armed and ready. Seems to be tending towards the dark and mysterious, but oh well.

Here is what I got:

* The Grotesque, a gothic mystery set in England. A paralyzed master, evil butler, and black humor throughout. What could be better?
* Was, a “disturbing yet fascinating” retelling of the Oz story.
* Hostage To The Devil, a non-fiction recounting of ‘actual’ stories of possessions. I am a sucker for this kind of thing.
* The Trickster, another dark mystery. Publisher’s Weekly says, “A seamless fusion of the supernatural and the psychological distinguishes this page-turning first novel, an impressive distillation of the Native Canadian experience”
* Hotel Transylvania, a book I just happened upon while browsing. An older gothic vampire-romance tale (the first in a long series) that I hadn’t heard of before. Looks like good fun.

And two others I picked up with Terri in mind, but will probably browse as well:

* The Soul’s Religion: Cultivating a Profoundly Spiritual Way of Life. I like Thomas Moore’s books and have read most of them. This one seems appropriate and compelling.
* On Becoming an Alchemist: A Guide For The Modern Magician. Metaphysical-spiritual angle on the alchemist’s search for transformation. Terri has a thing for alchemy, and I want to explore alchemy-themed art. Seems like an interesting book to investigate.

In other news, I’m finally feeling better. I feel like a new person today. I’m not sure why. Detox diet? Catching up on sleep? Burned out all the grouchy carbons? I don’t know, but I’ll take it. I feel more like myself. A tired self, but not a homicidal and/or suicidal self. Yesterday I felt like a monster. A depressed, exhausted, teary, achy, puffy, annoyed/annoying, irritable grouchy monster. Today I’m in a decent mood, which compared to how I have been feeling, feels like a freaking fantastic mood!

And Terri is feeling a little better too. Blessings all around. Thank God. We were on the verge of going under, for awhile. I don’t even know what I mean by that, but it wouldn’t be pretty in any case.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

