Skip to content

…because, why not? Once Upon A Time Challenge III

March 20, 2009

I shy away from challenges because I just can’t commit to much right now, but this is right up my alley and sounds really fun. So, this year, I will participate in Once Upon A Time Challenge III, hosted by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings! I’m very excited; I’ll be checking up on everyone’s TBR lists to get some ideas and will post my own soon. I had such a good time with R.I.P. last year, I’m sure this will be fun.
Then comes the hard part; which Quest will I choose?

I think I will do Quest The Third (at least one book each from: fantasy, folklore, fairy tale, and mythology PLUS reading Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream in June) and Quest The Fourth (two non-fiction books or essay collections which treat any of the four genres).

The challenge is from tomorrow through June 20th, so I think I can manage all that. I’m really looking forward to discovering some new authors, genres, and bloggers!
Some early ideas:
* an old-school fantasy like Piers Anthony or Anne McCaffrey
* Russian folklore
* Marie-Louise von Franz’ books on fairy tales
* Joseph Campbell’s mythology works
* some Grimm
* maybe rereading Little, Big
And, as an added bonus, perhaps doing some art projects which have been rattling around in my brain: my own take on some favorite fairy-tale themes.

OK, now I’m excited.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

