Skip to content

Some Updates, And, A Recipe!

March 28, 2009

(I haven’t posted a picture in awhile… why? Because I am L-A-Z-Y, that’s why. Hopefully I’ll process some this weekend)

And now… Random Updates!

Hair: It’s been… a week and a half? Two weeks? Probably two weeks since I washed my hair with shampoo. It’s actually going great! I had one or two days where my hair felt kinda icky, but it wasn’t that bad even then. I got some bulk baking soda to wash with, and made a vinegar solution to rinse with. I’ve noticed that my hair is fuller, curls more easily, and is less fluffy and fly-away. It seems a little dry (I’m assuming that’s because the oils haven’t worked their way down to the ends yet) so today I used some conditioner and I might do a warm oil-pack deep conditioning treatment this weekend, but I’m pretty happy so far. I think it’s still ‘transitioning,’ whatever that means, but it’s certainly not unmanageable and I’m happy so far.

Health: I think I have to go on a no-sugar, whole-foods diet for awhile. My ear (which is easily infected) has been giving me trouble, and last time it was afflicted, it was with a massive yeast-and-staph infection (yuck!!). Given the vertigo I’ve been experiencing, and the recent heavy dose of antibiotics I took for my leg, and the fact that my tummy has been acting up, I think I need to just bite the bullet and do this thing. No sugar, no processed foods, no ‘white’ carbs, no caffeine. Sigh. Luckily it’s just for a month or two. And luckily my new favorite lunch is steamed cauliflower, broccoli and carrots, with some baked chicken (I’m a mostly-vegetarian, but lately I’ve been so low-energy I’m reverting back to my old nutrition lessons from growing up and am upping the protein. Just chicken, however). Hopefully this will help that, too. Starting… Monday.

Books: I am almost done with The Wood Wife, and now I see what the big deal is! I am completely enthralled with this book. It’s really good, better than I had hoped. I should be posting a review tomorrow, if I keep reading tonight like I have been. And then, even though I should be reading for Once Upon A Time, I have a whole slew of other books to read before getting back into OUAT. They’re library books so I’d better hop to it! I also have to post over at Anna; I keep forgetting…

And, the recipe: This is from Orangette, whose book A Homemade Life I really want to read. I read about this last week and wanted to try it… seems like a really good lunch, so inexpensive and delicious, not to mention simple! I made it tonight, and was instantly addicted.

1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed (I am going to try home-cooked next time)
1 tsp. fresh lemon juice
1 ½ tsp. good olive oil
A pinch of salt
¼ cup loosely packed shredded real Parmigiano Reggiano

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, and stir gently to mix. Taste, and adjust seasoning as necessary. Serve immediately, or chill, covered, until serving.

PS: This is really filling, too.

That’s about it for now. I am feeling very inspired by the book, so hopefully next week the paints will come out again…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

