Skip to content

Honored

April 17, 2009

Today I got honored at a work-function luncheon thingie. It was supposed to be a surprise but people accidentally dropped hints about it during the week, so I guessed. Still, it was awfully sweet. Kristi Yamaguchi was at the event. She’s very, very tiny and adorable.

I have a really hard time with things like these. On the one hand, I rationally know they could have chosen any number of other women at my table (who, I would argue, are WAY more deserving of being honored than I). On the other hand, I have such a hard time accepting that I could ever, in any universe, deserve any sort of recognition that I actually felt really awkward and weird.

Work: “Hey, Daph! We love you! We’re honoring you! Let’s give you an award and love and encouragement!”

Me: “Huh? Why on earth would you want to do that? This is a cruel joke. Please stop.”

(I also have to say that admitting all this makes me feel bad too, but this is one of those times where I’m trying to be transparent and not-perfect and messy. So, here you go.)

(and did I mention that Kristi Yamaguchi is about the tiniest person alive?)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

