Skip to content

Book Haul

July 13, 2009

Otherwise known as a buttload of books!


Granted, these are Terri and my books combined. But we hauled them out of the library in one giant bag. I felt like Santa Claus. Seriously. It was heavy. Comfort-book central.

So here’s what I got. (Terri got thrillers and spirituality books.)

A Prayer for Owen Meany, John Irving: I’ve read this, but it’s been a long time. Seems like a good comfort/inspiration book.

The Rescuers, Margery Sharp: I haven’t read this since…. uh, a very long time ago. It is seriously so adorable. I remember sitting out in our huge redwood tree reading this, sheltered from the rain.

The Sandman, Neil Gaiman: I know I read one or two of these a few years ago, but was not huge Neil fan then. Now I am, and I can’t wait to read this big collection.

Murder on the Orient Express, Agatha Christie: OK, people. How have I not read Agatha Christie before now?? OMG, totally in love with this book (currently reading). Poirot is droll, the characters are perfect, and I love the 30s writing style. And, this book is a bonus nice little size with a fun 60s-era cover.

The Book of Lost Things, John Connelly: Picked at random from shelf. Looks like fun. I can’t remember what it’s about… something about a magic book?

The Long Winter, Laura Ingalls Wilder: Vying for position as my favorite Little House book (next to On The Banks of Plum Creek or Little House In The Big Woods). Have not read this in years and years. Really looking forward to it. I think I read the Little House books at least four or five times.

Danny, Champion of the World, Roald Dahl: A favorite, and bittersweet to suit my current mood.

The Witches, Roald Dahl: Because it is so delightfully funny and weird.

A Series of Unfortunate Events #2 (The Reptile Room), Lemony Snickett: I’ve read the first one and thought it was so wonderful. Somehow the title (…Unfortunate Events) seems apt.

The Wind In The Willows, Kenneth Grahame: Another childhood favorite. I love Toad!

The Giver, Lois Lowry: I’m ashamed that somehow I have never read this.

Umm… so yeah. I’d better get reading. I’m so excited about all these books — I really just picked out whatever looked comforting, funny, and cozy. Particularly happy that I’m enjoying the Christie so much — I think I have a new source of comfort reads, especially for rainy nights! Is the Poirot series any good?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

