Skip to content

Chop, Chop!

August 19, 2009
…and there goes the hair!

I didn’t take a “before” but I probably chopped off a good 5-6 inches (from the back). I really had no idea what I was going to do before I went to the salon, and so I just sort of hemmed and hawed and the hairstylist kind of just did what she wanted and… here we have the new hair. Which is almost the exact same hair I had 5-6 years ago. Which is not a bad thing, I actually love this haircut… but I sort of didn’t expect to have it again right yet! Oh well. It’s cute, it’s short and cool (we get a long Indian summer here) and I think once it grows a little it will be just right.

Not very much going on. Things feel kind of odd right now — simultaneously whirlwind busy but also sort of calm. I can’t seem to remember what I’m doing one day to the next. I’m reading Blade Runner and I love it, but I keep forgetting to take it with me out of the bedroom, so I haven’t gotten through it very quickly. I feel like lots of things are going to be resolved or decided very soon, so everything is rushing up to that point, and it’s hard to tell what’s what. But it could be that nothing is going to be decided, that it’s all in my head (since I can’t even really pinpoint what I’m talking about)… but sometimes you just have that feeling, you know? A sort of rushed optimism. Stuff’s happening. I don’t know what, but, Stuff? It is happening. (somewhere)

It’s also drawing close to my very favorite time of year. I can’t wait. September and October are my favorite months, with November and December close seconds. I’ll be turning 35 in September, which is very strange. When I was little I thought 35 was SO OLD. And here I am, almost 35, and I feel like I’m about 22. Well, maybe 25. It depends on the day. But 35? No way. I guess that’s a good thing, right?

So this blog post is a good case in point. I feel like stuff is brewing, but I’m unable to bring it up to the surface. I’m curious about what is going to come up in the next few weeks and months.

In the meantime… totally loving Philip K. Dick. Kitty is doing okay (although she has a big ouchie under her front leg where the tumor is too close to the surface, poor thing). I’m hoping that things are on an upswing in general, but it’s hard to tell. I’m feeling oddly optimistic. I hope it continues.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

