Skip to content

R.I.P. Already? Hooray!!

August 25, 2009


Just what I needed to perk up a lackluster, long day. Carl’s R.I.P. IV challenge is starting! For some reason I thought I was going to have to wait until October. But no! Two whole months of nothing but spooky, scary, Gothic, mystery, suspenseful fun! I am sooooooo excited. And am wishing I had kept better track of all the books I was “holding for RIP”… oh well. Time to make a list. But first, which peril? I’ll choose…

Well, I’ll choose my own peril: All Scary All The Time.
So what’s on my reading list? Let’s see. I’ll choose 10 and see how far I get.
1. The Woman in White by Wilkie Collins
2. Let The Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist
3. Roald Dahl’s Book of Ghost Stories by Roald Dahl
4. Tales of the Unexpected by Roald Dahl
5. We Have Always Lived In The Castle by Shirley Jackson
6. Tamsin by Peter S. Beagle
7. Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier (a re-read, but I’ve been looking forward to it all year)
8. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
9. Hell House by Richard Matheson
10. An Agatha Christie, maybe And Then There Were None?

And then a few others because I got started looking at other people’s pools from last year…

11. definitely a John Bellairs
12. Tales of Terror From The Black Ship by Chris Priestly
13. The Mysteries of Udolpho by Ann Radcliffe
14. Baltimore,; Or, the Steadfast Tin Soldier and the Vampire by Mike Mignola and Christopher Golden
15. The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson
16. Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin
17. The Lonely Werewolf Girl by Martin Millar
18. The Night Country by Stewart O’Nan
19. a local ‘ghost’ book (there are lots of “Ghosts of Alameda” or “Ghosts of San Francisco” books around here)
20. The Sandman by Neil Gaiman (if I can find a good collection of the first in the series)

I might have to actually BUY a couple of these (horrors!) but now I’m going to go to the library site to see how many of these I can get from the library. However, that is an excellent excuse to go to Dark Carnival and Borderlands. Oh darn, I have to go to the bookstore. What a drag.

(grinning madly)

I’m also going to try to find a few more book blogs to read. I currently have a list of about 10, which I can barely keep up with. However, I’d like to find a few more like-minded souls. What are your favorite book blogs?
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

