Skip to content

The Longest Book Ever?

September 10, 2009

And here I was thinking that The Godfather wasn’t that long of a book. Hello?! It’s taking me forever to read this thing. It’s fantastic, though. I don’t want it to end. I sense a Godfather-movie-viewing-marathon in our near future. Complete with spaghetti. And cannolis. And some fat men sitting around plotting murders.

Well, maybe minus the fat men.

Which brings me to a thought I’ve been thinking. I have this goal about reading 75 books this year. But really, that’s pretty arbitrary. Some books are big. Some books are small. Some books have big type. Some books are graphic novels and take fifteen minutes to read.

So really, how do you guage ‘how many books’ you’ve read? Or am I am just being all Virgo about this? Does it really matter?

It doesn’t really matter, I know. Still. If you read War and Peace, Don Quixote, Atlas Shrugged and Les Miserables, that’s only four books. Four of the longest books EVER, but still. Do they only count for four?

Only a book geek would worry about these things. I hate to ‘pad’ my count by adding in some shorties or YA books. I get all caught up in wondering whether only books over 200 pages count, or what. Am I crazy?

Ultimately it doesn’t matter, of course. What matters is that I’m packing in maximum enjoyment of many, many books. What matters is that I stuff my brain with lots of new thoughts and new authors and various subjects. What matters is that I have a good time.
But still. I’ve got some work cut out for me to read 75 books by the end of this year. I’m a tad behind. But it’s RIP season (as soon as I finish The Godfather) and I’ll hopefully (pardon the pun) rip through a bunch of books really quickly. And celebrate my achievement with… another huge round of books.

Isn’t life great?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

