Skip to content

Day 8 of Thanksgiving (in which I need your help!)

November 19, 2009

Today I am thankful for literature. And, for affordable community college classes.

I’m trying to decide which class to take in January. Help me choose! Do I go for:

Early Literature, up through Milton: Chaucer, Milton, etc. Interesting, but perhaps a little too arcane to really get me excited for the first lit class I’ve taken in over 12 years.
Late 17th-mid 19th century: Pope, Blake, Wordsworth, Brontes, Dickens, Austen, Whitman, selected others. I’m tempted by this one because I love this era. What is not to love about this lineup? Hello?!? Dickens and Austen and the Brontes?

Mid 19th-20th Century: Wilde, Shaw, James, Woolf, Joyce, Faulkner, Eliot, Hurston, selected others. Also tempting for the strong writing, and I’ve always meant to read Faulkner (and I love T.S. Eliot). Fascinating authors and really engrossing books…
Thoughts? It’s just an undergrad class so I’m hoping to completely enjoy myself. I’d like to do some good writing so I have something to show, should I apply for the MA in the fall. I’m thinking perhaps I should go for the Bronte-Dickens-Austen-Whitman uber-tempting lineup. That sounds like a complete indulgence: reading these books as HOMEWORK. “Sorry, can’t do dishes, I HAVE TO READ WUTHERING HEIGHTS.”

Bonus: will have to purchase these books for notations, right? Right. Perfect excuse to break my ban on book-buying. 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

