Skip to content

Vacation Day Three (plus, wasp!)

April 20, 2010

Hmm. Just trying to figure out this new blog platform. WordPress users, any tips?

Today was good, and very lazy.

  • Got up and went out into living room to fiddle with new blog settings (I woke up and thought: Hey, good idea!)
  • When Terri got up, we both got back into bed and read the news, etc.
  • Made some instant risotto (I don’t really recommend this, even with a quality “natural” brand. Ew.)
  • Watched “Let The Right One In.” I loved the book. The movie was eerie and sad, but not very scary. Which is not necessarily a bad thing in this case.

In other news, we finally have screens over the ventilation holes on the back porch. We have a bad wasp problem, which for some reason of course does not bother our neighbors (who are never home and never sit on the porch), and our landlady has been slow to respond. FINALLY today the guy came to put screens over… six of the eight holes. Well, the problem is *almost* solved.

When I went out to look at the screens, there were wasps hanging on all the screens, looking (?) into the holes. I went back to get my camera and there was just this one, but it was kind of creepy. And sad. We are terribly PMS in this house today so it almost made us cry. I almost cried at the thought of my “old” blog getting left behind, that’s how bad the PMS is. Ah well. We have brownies, so we’ll survive the night. Maybe.

Tomorrow I have no idea what I’m going to do. Perhaps it’s a makeover day. Maybe a little ‘artist date’ with myself, stopping in at a local gallery. Maybe a little hike with the camera. I’m really enjoying doing barely anything, so maybe more of that. Seriously, it is lazy lazy lazy around here. I’m still in PJs and have no intention of ever getting dressed or leaving the house today.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 6:09 am

    I’m so excited you moved to WP! 😀 What tips do you need?

  2. April 21, 2010 7:33 am

    Cleo must have had a really tough day. She looks exhausted!!!

  3. April 21, 2010 9:51 am

    Nice new digs! I have no tips to offer, you appear to be doing a fine job. You’ll figure out what order you want things in your sidebar eventually and since they are easy to move around it’s nothing to worry about.

    That is one comfortable looking cat in the photo! Don’t feel bad for the wasps. They will find some other place to live.

  4. April 21, 2010 10:37 am

    Thanks, everyone! I’m liking the larger photo display! Yes, Cleo was extremely blissed out. She was on a stack of newspaper and was about the happiest kitty in the world.

  5. April 21, 2010 5:49 pm

    Eva beat me to the ‘what tips do you need’ question! I was like WHOA – what happened, where am I? but I’m THRILLED! I really like WP so welcome. And you already have the one thing most new WPers have not filled out and that’s the link back box for url in the profile. Good job!

Leave a Reply

