Skip to content

Day Four

April 21, 2010

It’s the morning of Day Four and am I unsure what to do today and feel like chatting a bit.

Last night we watched the final 3 episodes of Buffy. What a freaking great show. This is the second time I’ve watched the entire series, but the first time I’ve watched it chronologically all the way through. It’s really pretty amazing what they were able to do mythologically and emotionally. It was even better this second time. We really enjoyed watching the whole thing together, too. Now we need a new Netflix show. I’m thinking perhaps Lost? Have also heard good things about the new Battlestar Galactica? I like a little sci-fi in my TV.

Yesterday I didn’t even get out of pajamas and only ventured onto the back porch to check out the wasp screens. It was pretty nice. Today I’m still feeling like being total lazy relaxed girl, but getting out of the house sounds nice for a bit too. I’m thinking of going to M.A.C. and getting some new makeup. I seem to have reached the age where drugstore eye makeup isn’t cutting it — not because I’m a snob, but because it just melts off and by 10 am it’s like I’m not wearing any. Which isn’t a bad thing, but when you actually PUT the makeup on, you’d like it to stay, right? So that could be a fun outing.

I’m also wanting to go see some art or something, so I might figure out a side trip to a gallery or something. I think the new Oakland Museum of California is opening so that might be worth a walk-through as well. I saw an article today where some famous San Francisco art collectors are opening their homes for tours this Thursday. Now THAT would be fun, but tickets are $100-$500 (presumably a fundraiser of some sort) so I think I won’t be going!

Also a possibility is a gray rainy spring walk in the hills somewhere, but frankly that seems like a lot of energy. Maybe tomorrow. I’d like to go get some photos with this pretty silvery light.

In the meantime, what I AM doing is sitting in bed with a cup of hot tea (brought to me by my sweetie), surrounded by purring cats and a wee bit more energy than yesterday… perhaps just enough to actually make something good for breakfast. I was so, so tired. I needed yesterday (during which I was mostly a lump all day long). Today I’m feeling slightly more rejuvenated and positive. Oh, there are plenty of things to worry about, as usual, but I’m trying to really enjoy myself and just relax! Frankly I wouldn’t even be wanting to travel anywhere — staying home is so wonderful and cozy. It’s also my period week so I’m better off at home in bed most of the week anyway — now THAT’S a luxury, to actually stay home and be cozy when a girl feels crappy in that oh-so-special girly way. I might need to make something wonderful for dinner. A warm casserole or lasagna sounds perfect, yes?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 12:07 pm

    I haven’t seen all of Buffy, but like you, I go through shows via Netflix. Right now, my friend and I are watching Eureka, which is about a town full of genius scientists and how their experiments routinely almost destroy the town or the world. It’s not a uniformly strong show, plot-wise, but I love the characters and it’s genuinely funny. Have you seen Veronica Mars? That’s a really good TV on DVD show. I’ve seen two seasons of Battlestar Galactica and it’s excellent. The new Doctor Who (haven’t seen the old) is also terrific. I know everyone’s all over Lost and I did like the first season, but it totally lost me on the second season. That was when it was airing on tv so I wasn’t watching it via DVD.

  2. April 21, 2010 6:05 pm

    Fun, fun day. I like it!!! A little smile would be nice :).

  3. April 22, 2010 6:58 am

    What a lovely vacation you are having! Buffy rocks, but then you already knew that. As Christy suggests the new Doctor Who is pretty good. James and I are currently enjoying season 2. Of course there is also X-files. My sister informs me it is now available for streaming on Netflix. That show was some good TV.

  4. April 22, 2010 10:24 am

    I’m definitely interested in the new Dr. Who. I watched the entire X-Files a few years ago… agreed! What a great show!

    Thanks for the suggestions, everyone!

Leave a Reply

