Skip to content

Book: Carry On, Jeeves

April 25, 2010
tags:

Even though this should have only taken me a couple nights to read, it feels like I’ve been working on it forever. I guess I’ve just been in a bit of a reading slump (or really, really tired).

Still, it was good fun. Each chapter was a little story in the life of the wealthy and pampered Bertie Wooster, and his genius butler, Jeeves. Bertie’s pals are forever getting into scrapes, and the brilliant Jeeves always has the perfect solution. All the while, keeping Bertie in perfect shirts and tails, with tea and toast in the morning to boot.

Droll and witty and funny. Very good light amusement. I expected Jeeves to come out with an “It’s elementary, dear Wooster!” but he never did.

While of course the book was light and charming and fun, it was also a very interesting look into the privileged English rich, which is always sort of fascinating. I could do with a Jeeves. Please bring me some tea and toast in the morning, plus solve all my problems (and press my trousers and shine my jewelry, while you’re at it, won’t you?).

Thankfully there are lots of Jeeves books, and a miniseries to check out, so I’ve got lots more to look forward to.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 8:42 am

    Aren’t Jeeves and Bertie great? I would so love to have a Jeeves of my own too.

  2. April 26, 2010 11:36 am

    I definitely need one. We can share!

Leave a Reply

