Skip to content

Day Eight

April 25, 2010

Apparently today I finally had rested enough, because I woke up at 7:30 and was ready to get up. Still, I forced myself to stay in bed until 8:30. I got up and cuddled with Cleo out in the living room for a bit, reading the paper and looking at houses online.

After awhile Terri got up and we continued looking at houses online, and got very frustrated because we couldn’t find anything in Oakland, and we can’t seem to decide about any other surrounding cities. We’d love to stay in Oakland, but it’s really hard to find anything in a safe neighborhood in our price range.

So we decided to haul out all our optimism and go out for a short drive and explore a few neighborhoods we had questions about. There are some really, really cute and charming neighborhoods which are *just* outside our price range. We didn’t find anything *in* our price range, but we aren’t giving up. I found myself getting close to giving up a week or two ago, but then I remembered what we really really want: a house of our own, so we can create a snug little life with all the things important to us. We like our apartment here, and we love our neighborhood, but apartment living is getting REALLY old, especially after this freezing winter, and now a wasp problem which we are powerless to solve.

We’d like to stay in Oakland because it’d be seamless — easy commute for me, easy access to Terri’s doctors, close to friends, etc. We’re also considering Livermore, which is further out, but close to Terri’s sisters, which would be nice. Also on the list are Martinez/Pleasant Hill/Concord, or up north in Petaluma. But all of these require a commute for me, which is a drag.

Then tonight, we watched a segment on 60 Minutes about the Bay Bridge, and the Hayward fault. Thankfully I don’t have to commute over the bridge, but there IS going to be a big earthquake here anytime. So, that sort of nudged us into the “over the hills” direction (the fault runs straight through Berkeley, Oakland, Hayward), rather than staying here in Oakland. It’s silly to build your life on fear, but since it’s pretty much 100% guaranteed that there will be a nasty earthquake in the next 10 years, might as well factor that in, right?

So, house-thought took up most of the day.

Planted some basil, made big salads for dinner, watched a Lifetime movie. Didn’t do any art, didn’t do much else. However, I’m feeling more rested, and although I have some chores to do tomorrow in preparation for the week, I think tomorrow is going to be another low-key day. I go back to work on Tuesday and I’m going to try to stay relaxed for at least a week or two. πŸ™‚

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 8:51 am

    You know, ever since I was a kid growing up in SoCal “the Big One” was always going to happen soon. Certainly there have been big quakes in CA but none of them the big one. So now that I have left the state I have the luxury of distance to find it amusing. Keep flashlights and shoes by the bed, an earthquake kit in an easy to get to place and hope the odds are in your favor. Love the little house in the photo. Is that one for sale? It looks like it is out of a fairy tale or something.

  2. April 26, 2010 10:35 am

    I know… but the Hayward fault has quaked every 140 years, and now we’re overdue. So… I guess I’d just rather not buy a house right ON the faultline, you know? πŸ™‚

    I wish that house were for sale! I would snap it up in an instant. you know, if it were under $315k. πŸ™‚

  3. April 28, 2010 3:39 pm

    love the look of your new blog home. now you just need to find a new real home. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

