Skip to content

Final Day, and ouch

April 26, 2010

Sorry to keep subjecting you to self-portraits, but I’m too lazy to upload photos! Me, directly after makeover, still in parking lot.

So today is my last day of vacation. I’m actually not really going to call it a vacation; it was more a recovery time than a vacation. I slept a lot, rested a lot, did a few fun “me” things, and that was about all I could handle and/or needed to do.

Today I slept in again (trying to really, really catch up before heading back to work tomorrow!), then went to the grocery store for yummy fruits for smoothies this week.

Once I came home, I went out on the back porch to sweep off the two wasps nests I killed last night (with spray), and promptly threw out my neck. Ouch. So, back in bed I went, with ibuprofen and heating pads, for the next 3 hours. I’m just now feeling better. Sigh. A good reminder that perhaps I need to continue taking it easy.

After our minor housing freakout yesterday, we did a lot of thinking and talking. Today feels better. We have narrowed it down to either Oakland or Livermore (about 30 miles outside of Oakland). We’ve found some very cute houses in Livermore in our price range, and have done lots of research on the city. Terri used to live right next to there, so she’s familiar with it. Actually, it sounds a lot like Corvallis (the big town near where I grew up), minus the university. Former agriculture town, surrounded by pretty open space, about 80,000 people, nice revitalized downtown, relatively affordable houses. The commute might be a bear at times, but there are ways to make that better (I leave for work early, and could come home slightly after rush hour).

So, we are feeling more optimistic. Today, at least. This seems to change by the day. Sorry; y’all get to witness our wishy-washiness over this whole process.

Tonight I am debating whether to go for my walk because of my neck. And then we’re having big salads for dinner, and perhaps watching The Hangover or something else funny. And then an early bedtime, and back to it tomorrow.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 8:54 am

    Ouch is right! Overall though it sounds like you had a nice recovery time. Don’t wait too long before scheduling another one! I went to college with a guy who was from Livermore. I’ve never been there but never had anything bad to say about it. Hope your evening was uber-restful!

  2. April 27, 2010 10:33 am

    I’m going to do this recovery thing at least twice a year. We’re hoping for a few days of actual vacation this summer!
    I’m very intrigued by the Livermore idea. Liking it a lot. Have to check the commute deal… but other than that, I’m sold.

  3. April 27, 2010 10:49 am

    You’re wrong about this site! Not boring! Not ugly! Congratulations on your new e-home.

    And greetings from the past (the 30’s).

  4. April 28, 2010 3:37 pm

    love the picture. so so pretty.

    was the hangover funny? jay wants to see it. i get easily scared off by those types of movies.

  5. May 3, 2010 1:08 pm

    Love the self portraits, you are very photogenic!

    Sorry your vacation/rest has to come to an end. Hope all is going well anyway. I see that you read some Wodehouse recently. I just started the short story collection Young Men in Spats last night. Very witty. I love Wodehouse but don’t read him nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

