Skip to content

TBR Pile, Library Loot!

May 3, 2010

Went to the library on Sunday and had some fun. I can’t wait to get started on this awesome stack!

  • Her Fearful Symmetry. Have heard mixed reviews about this one, but I loved Time Traveler’s Wife, so…
  • Unbelievable: Investigations Into Ghosts, Poltergeists, Telepathy, and other unseen phenomena, from the Duke Parapsychology Laboratory. By Stacy Horn, NPR contributor, this goes into, well, all that parapsychology stuff. I’m wondering how similar it will be to Spook, by Mary Roach.
  • Thornyhold. Because a light, English-cottage fairy-tale mystery/love story by Mary Stewart sounded just about right. Have heard good things about this one in particular.
  • Ten Days in the Hills. Haven’t tried any Jane Smiley, so a fun celebrity-farce sounds good for this warmer weather trend and my somewhat tired brain.
  • The Valley of the Dolls. Because I haven’t read it yet, and it sounds FABULOUS.

Also in the TBR pile, but not from the library, are The Ghost In Love and Of Human Bondage. I haven’t been this excited about a TBR pile in awhile! I feel like I’m ushering in fun summer reading with this awesome stack.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 12:56 pm

    this is an excellent pile.

    i really, really want to read her fearful symmetry too. ive almost bought it a few times.

  2. May 3, 2010 1:05 pm

    I don’t blame you for checking out Her Fearful Symmetry. While I had many issues with it I cannot deny that it is well written and Niffenegger really knows how to tell a story. I hope you enjoy it.

  3. May 3, 2010 1:21 pm

    I hope I like it! Later this month, whenever I get it from the library, I am going to read The Little Stranger by Sarah Waters, which I anticipate will be better… but I figure it’s worth a read. I’m always up for a ghost story.

  4. Lara Starr permalink
    May 4, 2010 9:27 pm

    Valley of the Dolls is the BEST BOOK EVER! Jacqueline Suzanne practically invented modern book publicity with her shameless hawking. Have you seen the movie? Brilliant!

Leave a Reply

