Skip to content

Well, that’s that.

May 12, 2010


We fired our real estate team. The financial guy was sort of on the ball with getting back to me (usually) but he was disrespectful to Terri and never included her on any communication, and he informed us on Monday that we had a new real estate agent ‘assigned’ to us.

Umm… what happened to our old one? She sucked, but a little explanation would have been nice. Also, after that experience you would think they would be careful to introduce us, or let us interview a few people, or something. Or at least, a “sorry.”

So, even though I talked to the new agent today and she seemed nice, I had a bad feeling after I hung up the phone. Like, the sort of feeling you get when you think you’re being ripped off somehow, or when there is some sort of sleazy deal going on. We don’t have any hard evidence of anything not-right happening, but I just had that bad feeling after talking to her for some reason. So we fired them.

It should be noted that Terri didn’t like them at all the entire time. She is really good at predicting when things will not go well or when something is not right. It took me a bit longer. But she was definitely right all along.

So, moving on. (dusts hands together)

Feels better already.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 5:04 pm

    how frustrating, but here’s to new beginnings!

    in my experience, real estate agents and finance guys always seem to pick one person in the relationship who they address all the questions/comments to, and they ignore the other person. why is this?!!? with me, jay has always been the one they talk to, probably because hes a big loud man but also because hes the one with the main source of income. i think this is a really ignorant and antiquated way of judging the situation, because jay and i consider what we have going on to be an equal partnership (as im sure you and terri do too) and its a misstep to leave one partner out of the whole process. ive always had to work really hard to make my voice and opinions heard.

    that being said, our real estate people we have trying to sell our house now is a husband and wife team and they’ve been really good about keeping me in the loop when i’ve wanted to be. now if only they’d just hurry up and sell my house.

  2. May 12, 2010 5:06 pm

    Yes, exactly. They totally left Terri out and it was really insulting and annoying. Hello?! They are trying to GET MONEY. Wouldn’t you be nice and respectful to people you are trying to get money from?

    I hope your house sells soon!! I just want to get to the part where we live in our house. I am not enjoying the buying, nor am I expecting that we would love the selling, either. Boo.

  3. May 13, 2010 6:16 am

    Good move, trust your intuition! Ask around at work and amongst friends for recommendations of agents who work in the area you are wanting to buy in. Hopefully you’ll have better luck!

  4. Cathy permalink
    May 13, 2010 8:52 am

    Hi Daph,

    LOVE your new blog! Did I send you Suzanne’s info? If not, let me know, o.k.? She’d be great to work with. I know a couple of other agents too …

    Have a fabulous day!

  5. May 13, 2010 1:43 pm

    Stef: thank you! We’re gathering recommendations now!

    Cathy: I think Terri has Suzanne’s info. Thank you!

  6. Theresa permalink
    May 13, 2010 8:05 pm

    When we were looking to buy a house we got the same treatment, except that our real estate agent kept addressing everything to MY DAD who wasn’t even going to be the one living in the house. Granted, we had him along because the man knows what to look for and to just make sure that as two young adults buying our first hosue we didn’t get screwed over… but still. HELLO??? Sheesh. Sorry you had to fire the people, and I wish you and Terri better luck with the whole house shopping deal. It’s so STRESSFUL. Even once you find the house there’s all the hupla with the inspection and the closing and the bidding drama. …. I realize that I’m not being at all encouraging so I’ll just stuff a sock in it now. LOL

Leave a Reply

