Skip to content

GoCar photos, plus thoughts

May 19, 2010

Trying out how to insert lots of photos into a post… here are some fun pictures from our GoCar adventure. Seriously, people. Fun, goofy silliness. Of course anything’s goofy when Super Mario is there to see you off (hello, Bay to Breakers!)

Couple more thoughts as I continue to rest up and assimilate everything that’s happened the last few days.

  • Terri was a super-duper sweetie and bought me a laptop! My very first all-to-myself computer. I have shared many computers of course, and I use my work laptop all the time, but I’ve never had my very own computer. So I am thrilled!! She also bought me an iPod Touch because I have been not-so-secretly jealous of hers. I have a Shuffle and that’s always been enough, but I love those apps on the Touch. She likes gadgets and I don’t usually care about them, but I like that Touch thingie. I’m also hoping it can function as an e-reader sometimes — I downloaded a reader app on Terri’s and use it sometimes when we have to wait for things. It’s small but works well. She found great refurbished models of both computer and iPod so they will be arriving in a few days. I can’t wait!
  • I finally got Babycakes baking cookbook from the library and am eagerly paging through trying to figure out what to make first. I love that it’s all gluten-free, vegan and low sugar. I’m thinking maybe corn muffins and the apple-cinnamon cake? And then maybe some brownies? ‘Cause you know how I love brownies.
  • I am feeling strangely overwhelmed lately — I think too many things have happened in too short of time. All good things (mostly) — the SSDI approval, followed by receiving the first of the checks (yay!),  firing our real estate team, both kitties needing vet checkups (always stressful for everyone), a visit from my best friend (so fun, but a lot of activity including a 12k race!), and then getting my period on top of it. So I’m feeling a little wacky and needing to disconnect from things. I’m reading Thornyhold by Mary Stewart and it is exactly perfect for how I’m feeling right now.
  • So I think we’re going to take a little break from everything for a few weeks. Just enjoy not worrying about money for a bit, put a hold on the househunting and sort of “re-set,” and get the house in order for summer. I’ll still be posting here but it might be light, depending on how I feel. Although… with a new fancy computer, I might be posting every day!

And I’m trying to catch up on blog reading… I am sorry I have been absent for awhile! Just a little overwhelmed. Perhaps a delayed response to the sudden lifting of that heavy burden. Time to rest and recover a little. And to have a yummy gluten-free brownie. 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 7:49 pm

    i love your photos.

    so excited about your laptop! jay bought me a little notebook before we left gainesville so that we wouldnt be so disconnected until we found a place to live. i love it. it doesnt do a lot of fancy stuff, but its PERFECT for my needs.

    it so funny you mention feeling overwhelmed! because i feel much the same way and i cant quite figure out why. the best i can come up with is that things are finally settling down and i just havent caught on to the idea of that yet. things have been so go go go the past month or so and thats just what ive gotten used to. ive been taking it easy a bit this week. (which is why ive been a very bad email correspondent. sorry!)

  2. May 20, 2010 8:21 am

    I’m really excited about the laptop! Yippee! I have looked into the notebooks, they are so cute, but I need to have the power for design programs. Still, having your own computer is so fun. I can’t wait.

    I think you are right: it takes awhile for your brain to adjust to the idea that things are actually okay. I feel very wobbly and unbalanced, but I think it’s like hopping off the merry-go-round and taking a few minutes to get your feet back under you. In this case, er, maybe a couple of weeks. But still.

    Take it easy! We’ll be doing the same…

  3. May 20, 2010 12:23 pm

    Yay for the laptop! What kind? And yay! for the iPod! I just have a shuffle. Works great for summer in the library when we have no student workers and a full cart of books to shelve. The hard part is not being one of those dorks who sings out loud and performs random dance moves 🙂 The cookbook sounds yummy. Since it’s vegan let me know if you think it’s a good one. I may not do the cooking but that doesn’t stop me from liking cookbooks 🙂

  4. May 20, 2010 12:25 pm

    Stef: she got me a MacBook Pro, so I can do all my design stuff. I’m so excited! And an iPod too! The riches of gadgetry is overwhelming! I can’t wait.

    I know all about being the dork who sings out loud and does random dance moves. Yep.

    I will let you know how the baking turns out. Maybe I can go get the stuff this weekend and try a batch. Yumz.

    • May 21, 2010 9:24 am

      I’ve got a MacBookPro and love it. Hope it arrives soon and when it does, have fun!

  5. May 21, 2010 10:25 am

    Ha, those pics are so much fun! I would love to drive one of those around.

    And hooray for you in getting your own laptop. What a wonderful gift!

Leave a Reply

