Skip to content

Evelyn Evelyn (Amanda Palmer/Jason Webley) Show and other Good Things

May 23, 2010

Well, it’s a terrible cell phone photo (still trying to figure out the ideal setting for taking phone pix) but here is the lovely and amazing Amanda Palmer from last night’s show at the also lovely and amazing Great American Music Hall in San Francisco. My friend Vanessa and I went, and I am *so* happy I was able to go.

I’m a recent Amanda Palmer fan, having only really gotten interested in her music after reading so much about her from Neil Gaiman’s blog (the two are engaged). So I started reading her blog and listened to her music and now I’m completely hooked.

The show started with the Evelyn sisters (the world’s first singer-songwriter conjoined twins) and they were so cute, and the music was fantastic, and the puppetry and kooky circus storyline and everything were so engaging. When they played their finale version of “Love Will Tear Us Apart,” I was so sad! I didn’t want the show to be over. I hadn’t realized that Jason Webley and Amanda would be playing after the Eveyln Evelyn show. In fact, I was making a mental note to myself that I really wanted to see Amanda Palmer play next time she toured so I could see her as herself, not just as a conjoined twin.

After the break, Jason Webley played some songs (great grumbly Tom-Waits style numbers) and then Amanda came out. She is a powerhouse. I had no idea you could get that much rock out of a keyboard piano. I find her so inspirational because she is clearly just out there pouring her heart out, and not being overly worried about things being perfect or slick. She’s just doing her thing as fiercely as possible. The fact that she is so transparent (“I had a plan when I came out on stage, and then I had another thought pop into my head and now I’ve forgotten my plan. So… who wants to hear what?”) creates such a connection — people were literally chatting with her from the floor (it’s a very small and cozy venue).

Anyway. Clearly I could go on and on, but it was such a treat to go see her live. She’s a fantastic performer and also damn inspiring. It’s rare you get to see someone who is clearly living her life with her entire heart and soul and body and wringing every bit of experience and love and joy and emotion out of every second. I would be exhausted by this because I am an introvert, but it’s pretty great to see someone else doing it. It makes me think, “What is my excuse? Get to creating, self!”

(also, something else awesome about the show was how well-done but obviously home-made — in the best way — most the show was. I love this DIY aesthetic and I love knowing that they actually made or seriously supervised the making of everything in the show. It feels like everybody was on creative fire and didn’t cop out by hiring stuff out to “professionals” because THEY were the professionals, and that is so inspiring. )

**

So the fun show last night was just the capper on a pretty great day. I have a rare weekend completely free from obligations, so I slept in yesterday and then read my book (The Little Stranger, by Sarah Waters, which I have to finish by Tuesday for book club), and then surprise! My new MacBook arrived a few days early! My very first all-to-myself computer. I absolutely love it. Thank you, thank you, sweetie! She wasted no time in ordering it for me. I’ve been using my work laptop for years and years — nice to finally have my own machine to do whatever I want.

I got home pretty late last night and so am expecting to have a quiet day today, but I’m in a great mood and feeling all happy, inspired, and relaxed.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 12:49 pm

    the show sounds amazing.

    i had never heard of evelyn evelyn until you mentioned them here. ive listened to a few songs and i think i may be hooked. im a sucker for that layered musical sound.

  2. May 23, 2010 1:28 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful show. I saw her once with the Dresden Dolls and it was absolutely incredible. Sadly it was much too long ago…hopefully I’ll have the chance to see her again sometime.

  3. May 23, 2010 2:04 pm

    Tammie: you should definitely check out Amanda Palmer and the Dresden Dolls. Heart.

    Ana: It was fantastic, so intimate and wonderful. I hope you get to see her again too! I will definitely be going next time she comes to town!

  4. May 24, 2010 5:26 am

    This sounds wonderful! I’ll have to check out her music (I’ve always meant to but don’t seem to get to it. Maybe today!)
    and congrats on the new Macbook!

  5. May 24, 2010 8:26 am

    Sounds like you had a great time. I’ll have to take a listen to her music sometime. And yay for your MacBook arriving early!

  6. Theresa permalink
    May 24, 2010 12:33 pm

    *gasp* you saw AMANDA PALMER LIVE??!!! color me jealous. LOL

  7. May 26, 2010 6:55 pm

    She was FANTASTIC!

Leave a Reply

