Skip to content

Now what?

May 26, 2010

I now have:

  • A brand-new laptop; my very own.
  • CS 4: Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, etc. I use these all the time at work, but now I have my own versions.
  • An iPod Touch.
  • 4-5 new pairs of shoes, since I did indeed have to get rid of most of my old shoes.
  • New tires, new brakes, clean oil.

I think there were some more major purchases or expenses in there somewhere, but I think we’re about done with the major purchases/obligations we’ve been putting off. Until the next major medical bill, which could be hefty. But for now, I think we’re good.

It’s an odd feeling for me to have my very own computer, with powerful design programs, my own little iPod Touch gadget, all this stuff. It feels good, like I can do anything. I CAN do anything. I have the tools.

So now what? I’m doing a little dreaming. Because nobody gets rich from disability payments, we’re still going to be extra frugal, but that tension can relax a little. I am now convinced that we will be okay no matter what, so now what. Lots of possibilities. I’m taking a little time to play with ideas, now that not every idea needs to be a moneymaker.

I feel like we were hunkered down for a long time. And then we were dazed. And now, although Terri remains very very ill and things are not actually all that much easier, I have a little breathing room at least. I wish things were suddenly all better, but of course they are not. What is “better” anyway? At any rate, now we are the next landing step in our journey. Towards what, I’m not sure. But we’ll see what’s around the next bend soon enough.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 7:06 pm

    even though being frugal is fun, sometimes it can be fun to spend money too, even if its on not so fun stuff like car stuff. there is a sense of accomplishment that you feel just by getting things done, especially when youve been frugal for so long.

    speaking of spending money…i bought myself a new pair of jeans today. i got a bit choked when i did it, but ive been looking at thrift stores and goodwills for months now without any luck. i was down to 2 pairs of jeans, one was kinda old, and the other had a zipper that always headed south, so i had to wear a long shirt or a tunic over it. sometimes ya just have to spend money.

    have fun with your new toys. 🙂

  2. May 26, 2010 7:42 pm

    It’s true… sometimes spending money is just more fun and easier.
    Congrats on your new jeans! That’s fun. I have been enjoying my new shoes, knowing they are new for a good reason.

  3. Adrienne permalink
    May 26, 2010 8:47 pm

    I say save for a small vacation somewhere nearby. In driving distance even – up or down the coast – or a small plane flight like to So Cal or New Mexico. Put $20 or $40 in a jar every week/month/whatever and see what it adds up to. Keep an eye on Southwest air fare deals. You’ll have a nice end of summer/fall vacation put aside in no time.

  4. May 26, 2010 10:05 pm

    Ironically, money is not the issue right now! Thankfully. All hail frugal living!

  5. May 26, 2010 10:07 pm

    Also although I certainly talked about money a lot in this post (I wonder why? I meant it to be more about *things*), I’m wondering what to do with the extra mental space. What now? What could be fun? What do I *want* to do?

  6. May 27, 2010 6:13 am

    Hooray! I am so glad you can relax a little and not worry so much. I’m sure soon enough you will have something to fill the mental space vacated by worry. Perhaps thinking about showing your paintings again? 🙂

Leave a Reply

