Skip to content

A Short List Of Things I Want To Do In The Next 3 Months

May 27, 2010

As a followup to yesterday’s post, here is a short list of things I want to accomplish by September. I feel suddenly optimistic again. I guess I just needed a little break.

  • Learn reiki. I’m going to take a two-day class in July and learn how to give reiki treatments. I figure if it helps Terri, that would be great and totally worth it. It sounds so interesting and fun.
  • Enter at least one piece into the Frank Bette monthly art exhibit. They have monthly calls for artwork, a differing theme each month. I am going to try for the July exhibit. It’s very low-pressure and just a funny little art space in Alameda, but I think it’s a good first step toward my dream of having a tiny coffeeshop art show. Plus, I might meet some artsy people who could help me figure out what to do next. Plus, fun!
  • Narrow down our house search to two or three East Bay towns. Right now we are all over the map and I think that’s making it more difficult to figure out what we want. I think we’re getting closer. Also, make the decision if we are going to rent or buy. I *think* we want to buy, but the prospect of dealing with mold problems and so forth, with Terri’s compromised immune system, might be worth a pause. At any rate, we’re tired of apartment living and want a long-term house situation no matter what. So. Make a few decisions there.
  • Take a 4-week Yoga For Back and Neck series that my local yoga studio offers. I’m terrible at exercise classes, even yoga, but  I can manage four weeks and my neck and back need some help.
  • Decide on one class for fall. This will be a “just for fun” class. I’m considering: a lit class, a creative writing class, a framing class, a pottery class, or a watercolor review class.
  • Make a thrifted-sheet picnic quilt. I keep seeing these on blogs and I love them. I want to do a sewing project and this would be perfect. We like to go to the park and lay on the grass and dog-watch. 🙂

There. That’s my list. I have plans in place for all of them and each one is fun and/or productive without being “too much”. And I’m totally excited about all of them!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2010 7:56 am

    Wonderful plans Daphne! I hope you enjoy them all even the house hunting. Once you decide what you want and get your realtor working for you even that will be fun.

  2. May 28, 2010 11:09 am

    this is a great list.

    a neck and back yoga class sounds wonderful.

    i really want to make a picnic quilt too. i have the sheets, just waiting for the motivation.

  3. Theresa permalink
    May 28, 2010 3:50 pm

    Neat! I have a friend who is a Reiki and I think it’s awesome. I’m going to be taking courses on that soon too!

  4. Lua permalink
    May 29, 2010 1:09 am

    Great list Daphne! I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling more optimistic… I especially liked the idea of taking a “just for fun” class 🙂

Leave a Reply

