Skip to content

30 Day Sketch(y) Challenge

June 1, 2010

Sketchy because I don’t really know the details. Except that I want to get in the habit of drawing more. And there is room in my head for art now, all of a sudden. And I didn’t try hard enough when I took my art classes in college (although they still gave me an art degree). I have never been tortured in pursuit of my art. Nope. I’m kind of lazy. And deeply fearful and intimidated. Of what, I don’t know.

So anyway.

Here’s the deal. I’m putting it down so you’ll all keep me accountable.

One sketch at day (at least — can be more). Can be anything. Does not have to look good. Does not have to take a long time. Does not need shading or coloring or anything at all. Can be a single line (horizon?).

I will not spend inordinate time looking at past drawings. Will attempt to not look at them at all until July. This will be difficult.

These drawings will not turn into anything at all. A major stumbling block for me has always been that anything I make has to have a purpose, a destination, a reason. These will have no reason. They will live in the sketchbook and that’s enough.

They will be done with a mechanical pencil, because I can keep it in my purse with the sketchbook. I love charcoal and pastel, but hello?! Messy. Mechanical pencil it is. I did get a new one, with nice lead.

At the end, I will pick some of the better or more interesting ones and show you. I’ll also write about how it is to do a small drawing a day.

I’m hoping to turn this into a habit, but it doesn’t have to be. Maybe after a month I’ll be sick of it. And then I’ll know.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 4:23 pm

    im excited about this. 🙂 i may be nagging you if you dont post about it.

  2. June 2, 2010 9:05 pm

    Good for you! I’m part of a 365 photo group and it has really made me accountable (not like anyone comes looking for me if I don’t take a picture, but you get the idea) for taking at least one meaningful picture each and every day. And I have! Some better than others, but still I have at least one for each day.

    Can’t wait to see what you create.

  3. June 3, 2010 8:17 am

    What a great idea! I hope it has begun well and I can’t wait to see the results even if the whole month ends up being horizon lines which I know it won’t 🙂

  4. June 3, 2010 8:27 am

    Thanks for the encouragement! It’s fun so far, although I am RUSTY.

Leave a Reply

