Skip to content

Off to a great start…

June 3, 2010


Well, here we are at day 3 of my self-imposed Sketch Challenge (don’t laugh, this page is terrible, that’s kind of the point of my post). I’m going to try hard to not look at my past drawings, to try and keep the Bad Voices away (the ones that say, “Wow, that is CRAP.”) However, when I was putting my sketchbook into my purse this morning I did see what I did last night and I had to laugh.

My plan was to sit on the back porch and do some flower studies. I started off okay (although I couldn’t remember the month, apparently, and also couldn’t be bothered to finish writing out the year), did a couple of super-quick impressions of lavender. I’m trying to get back into the habit of just getting down impressions of forms and so forth, not yet bothering with the finer details or even trying to get anything “right”. So then I moved on to these bright orange-and-purple daisy things we also have… at which point my cat came out and jumped into my lap, and then the timer went off for something that was on the stove, and the phone rang. So this excellent piece of art took me all of… about four minutes.

Still, goal accomplished! I sat, I thought about art, and I put some pencil down on paper.

I think I am going to review Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain. I have the book and I took a class sooooo many years ago (I might have been 14 or 15) and loved it. The gallery of how people improved after going through the course is pretty impressive: http://drawright.com/gallery.htm I think going through the book and doing some of the exercises as my daily ‘sketch’ might be really worthwhile. And fun.

I also looked again at my “Primary” painting and I actually like it quite a bit. I’m going to try and finish it up this weekend. It’s going to be two or three days of putting on translucent layer after layer. Terri voted for keeping it abstract, and I think I agree. It has to be for sale to be entered in the exhibition… I don’t want to sell it! I think that’s a good sign.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 7:37 pm

    i like your sketch, but i like natury/plant sketches.

    i think its good to not focus on whether or not what you make is crap. sometimes its about the process.

    also, when i saw your sketch it reminded me of this lady’s blog, which i looooove to look at:

    http://blogdelanine.blogspot.com/

  2. June 3, 2010 8:14 pm

    This is definitely about process. You should (not) see the other crappy sketches I’ve been doing.

    I will have to check out this blog!!

  3. June 3, 2010 8:16 pm

    Ahh! I just looked at it! I instantly loved it. I am now going to have to read more. Love, love it.

  4. June 4, 2010 6:45 am

    The lavender is pretty good. I’m glad your primary painting is going well and you are leaving it abstract. Can’t wait to see the final version! I’ll bet it gets bought at the exhibition too 🙂

  5. Theresa permalink
    June 6, 2010 5:10 pm

    Neat! What a great challenge. I should probably challenge myself to do something like that daily. I miss drawing so badly. Heh.. and I have that same book! I inherited it from my grandmother.

Leave a Reply

