Skip to content

what we do to amuse ourselves around here

June 12, 2010

The other morning I walked into the kitchen and saw this, taped to a cupboard:

“Halp! BIG SPIDER! He went in here! No, here! Maybe over here! Ewwww!”

I immediately suspected that a certain Tiger and a certain Baby Gorilla were the authors, but wasn’t sure. So I went and got ready for work. When I came back out, there was another note taped just below the first one.

“Halp! Halp! A tiger and a baby gorilla chased me in here! Halp! Halp!”

This, I suspected, was an impassioned plea from the trapped spider.

When I came home from work, the orchestrator of this spider-trapping was revealed:

“Spider, the bestest and onliest way out is to hit yourself over the head with a hammer! LOL! –Cleo. (that was funny daffenee, huh, daffenee, huh?)

It was Cleo (the baby gorilla) after all. (the “that was funny, daffenee, huh daffenee” is an inside joke, which apparently Cleo picked up on)

We decided to leave it up for a few days as fair warning to other huge spiders who might show up unexpectedly in the kitchen on a dark night.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2010 7:56 pm

    i almost snorted my drink out of my nose. this is hilarious.

    im going to start working the word “onliest” into conversations.

  2. June 12, 2010 8:09 pm

    *Very* funny. Very.

    Mercy on that spider.

  3. June 12, 2010 8:16 pm

    It’s been up for a few days and I crack up every time I see it. Poor, poor spider. 🙂

  4. D'Arcy permalink
    June 13, 2010 6:40 am

    Okay, first of all, HA! Secondly, go look at Kate’s blog. Especially the comments.

  5. June 14, 2010 8:34 am

    Poor spider! Waldo and Dickens would be in complete agreement with Cleo though I don’t think are half as clever and literary as she is.

  6. Theresa permalink
    June 14, 2010 10:33 am

    he he he he

Leave a Reply

