Skip to content

a short list of things I’d like to do this weekend

June 19, 2010

…but will probably not get around to, because, you know, I’m not superwoman. (close… but am still working on the speed-of-light thing)

  1. Create a recipe card for this site.
  2. Make a cherry pie from fresh sour cherries (did I miss the season?)
  3. Go look at about five different houses that we’re interested in
  4. Read three books (I am really behind in my reading this year. distracted much?)
  5. Sew something. Skirt? Thrift-store quilt?
  6. Decide on an art class for fall (this one I might be able to accomplish)
  7. oh, and sleep the entire weekend.

I’d better get a move on. Or, considering #7, not.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 8:52 am

    this sounds like an excellent list.

    that draw and cook site is adorable. i need to go back and give it some more of my attention.

    im way behind on my reading too. and ive only read a handful of the books on my actual list that i wanted to get through.

    i want to take some sort of class too but havent decided yet. im trying to decide if i want to jump in head first and go back to school for a career. (id love to be a librarian. jay, knowing this, looked up all the info i needed to go back to school for this. he’s so awesome like that) or if i just want to take a class for fun right now, to ease back into the whole thing. i found about Portland Sewing, and they offer tons of classes, everything from beginner to advanced, pattern making, etc…OR im also struggling with the idea of just sitting back, taking a breather, and just enjoying life for a while. which i guess is on par with your ‘sleep the weekend away’ goal.

  2. June 19, 2010 9:57 am

    Well, I’m working on the list… I got a bunch more thrifted sheets this morning and I think I have enough to make my quilt. So maybe that will start this afternoon. And I’m making a cherry pie this morning. So… doing pretty good I think, for not even 10 am on Saturday!

    I have been rethinking the library thing too. You know there are a ton of online courses for this. Another blogging friend, Stefanie, is almost done with her library school. I’m sure she’d be happy to talk to you about this… Maybe you could take one fun class, just to get back in the swing of things, and then see what strikes your fancy? I am so excited for you, I love school. Enjoying life is also good. Enjoying life with an easy class might be best of all worlds!

  3. June 19, 2010 11:41 am

    Read three books? Over a weekend?!?! Do you plan on sleeping? šŸ˜‰

  4. D'Arcy permalink
    June 19, 2010 3:29 pm

    Reading three books in a weekend is completely doable, even if you do think you need sleep. Which you don’t. Reading is infinitely more important, and besides, tea is really good when reading and the caffeine will keep you awake.

    I checked out that site – wow, totally up your alley. Not mine, although my new pastime is surfing the web for recipes. And I’m sorry, but I officially hate the artist who said her food vice is green salad. Green salad is not a vice.

  5. June 19, 2010 7:59 pm

    Carl: see #7. Incompatible with #4, unfortunately. It’s one or the other. (three is within the realm of possibility, if I forfeit all the other things I was going to do… which I will not be doing… so I’ll settle for maybe 1.5 books)

    D’Arc: reading regularly trumps sleeping over here, yes. And yes, I really really need to do a recipe card! But not for green salad. What should mine be for, I wonder? Hmm. Karelian pies? Nah, brown crust with white filling is not pretty enough. Must think on this.

Leave a Reply

