Skip to content

Summer Reading Meme

June 25, 2010

I’ll be out for the weekend, seeing family and friends and going to a work meeting thingie. In the meantime, enjoy this summer reading meme!

What is your favorite summer drink while reading?

Unsweetened iced tea, water with lemon and mint, or sometimes if I’m being bad, a root beer.

Would you ever mark your place in the book with a blade of grass or a pressed flower?

Hmm. It depends. If it was a pretty book, or a library book, then no. But if it were a thrift-store paperback, then probably yes. However, I always like to find flowers and old bookmarks in used/library books. People mark their books so personally sometimes. I like that.

Fiction, nonfiction, or both?

I am a total fiction reader in the summer. I just want to read good stories. I’m not really in learning mode. That comes in the fall.

Perfect summer beach book?

I have several criteria for The Perfect Summer Book:

1. It needs to be a pretty big chunkster. I like a big fat book for summer reading.
2. Preferably some sort of epic family story or drama. Past summer favorites have included The Shell Seekers and, guiltiest of guilty pleasures, Scruples (which remains the only Judith Krantz novel I could ever stomach). Also both Gone With The Wind and Scarlett. Although Scarlett wasn’t that great.
3. Preferably some sort of rags-to-riches theme
4. With some glamour and a bit of tawdry romance
5. Need not have a happy ending, but no tear-jerkers. Especially now. I am really, really not into sad books right now.
6. For some reason, I prefer female main characters for these types of books.
7. Does not need to be literary masterpiece, but has to be fairly well-written.
8. I like hardbacks with pretty covers.

Are you currently reading a Summer Beach Book?

Yes. I’m reading The Thorn Birds and I’m kind of loving it. It seems to be meeting most of my criteria so far. It’s just the right balance of soap opera, little bit of drama, but nothing too heavy. Perfect.

Magazines for summer? Or books only?

I like magazines but pretty much only when I’m having breakfast on the weekend, when I’m in a waiting room or at the airport, or sometimes mid-afternoon if I’m not in the mood for my book. I have long ago given up trashy women’s magazines that exist only to make me feel bad, and now go for Real Simple, Better Homes & Gardens, either Book Review, or sometimes an Oprah.

Summer TBR list?

Well, The Thorn Birds for sure. And then I think I’ll read To Kill A Mockingbird, maybe The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (since we have it), and maybe Clan of the Cave Bear just for fun. Then we’ll see what else.

Perfect summer reading set-up?

Ideally, in a quiet back yard in the shade on a warm day, with a nice drink (see above) and maybe a snack, in either a very cushioned hammock or a fat squashy lounge lawn chair. Feet up for sure. Beaches are too bright for very good reading, lakes have mosquitoes, parks are noisy. I need a backyard. Soon, please!

All new books or re-reads?

Summer is traditionally a good time for re-reading for me. I used to read my favorites every summer, starting with Little Women and going through The Lord of the Rings and so on. Unless it’s something by an author I love, I tend to wait on newly released books anyway. I like old favorites and classics in the summer.

Perfect summer book-lover vacation?

Oh, let’s see. I think the PERFECT summer vacation for a book-lover like me would have to last at least a month, right? Someplace warm, near a river, not too populated or touristy. Ideally a little cabin with a short walk to the river, with a swimming hole. Lots of grass and trees. A small town with a good bookstore and a good library. Maybe the cabin is pre-stocked with beat-up paperback favorites. A big bathtub with one of those book-trays so your book doesn’t get wet. A TV but only for movies. No phone. And of course, Terri and the kitties (and a dog?) Yep, sounds perfect.

**

What about you?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2010 9:09 am

    My summer reading mojo isn’t as strong this year as summers past. Not sure why.

    Sometimes I go for thought provoking…other times fluff.

    My brain and emotions were so taxed this past school year that I’ve somewhat turned it all off. I need to just “be” and not have to think too darn much.

    Have fun with Tammie! I’m a wee bit envious…

  2. June 26, 2010 9:30 pm

    im with dani, my reading mojo has sucked too. and i dont know why. i feel like i cant think focus long enough to read a book…..although, i am FINALLY (150 pages in…) really getting into le divorce.

  3. June 28, 2010 1:23 pm

    This was fun, I’m going to have to borrow it 🙂 I don’t read magazines much either anymore and usually only on weekends during lunch or dinner when James is working.

  4. June 29, 2010 10:08 am

    The perfect reading drink for me would be a tall, cold, ice-filled glass of either sweet tea or Mt. Dew. If I was drinking it out of my LOTR glass or my Empire Strikes Back glass, it would be all the more perfect.

    I don’t think I could ever mark a book with a blade of grass, a leaf or anything like that. I’m too much into wanting to keep new books pristine and I’m not sure I could even do that to a used book.

    Perfect summer reading vacation is going somewhere that the temps are warm enough to be outside but cool enough not to get all sweaty, preferably somewhere that the bugs have decided to take a vacation from! Water near by would be a plus, I love the sound and smell of rivers and lakes. Lots of trees, lots of shade, bright green grass and a comfy place to curl up with several good books.

  5. June 29, 2010 4:05 pm

    I read “The Thorn Birds” about a million years ago. My daughter just finished “Gone With The Wind” and I suggested giving TTB a try — I’m hoping she does because it would make a great summer read for her. And I just read about your visit with Tammie — I think that is so awesome that you guys connected. I wish a fellow blogger lived closer to me (which is basically in the middle of nowhere). But, I guess I’m just destined to be a lonesome blogger for a while.

  6. June 30, 2010 4:46 pm

    Dani: we had so much fun! And I agree… reading mojo is off this year for some reason…

    Tammie: you’ll have to let me know how you liked it. it was a book club book and we all liked it but thought it was a bit too long.

    Stef: yes, please borrow it! Magazine-reading during meals is a terrific indulgence.

    Carl: love it! I agree, bug-free vacations are the way to go.

    Jodi: The Thorn Birds seems to be the perfect summer read. I wish I’d read it when I was a teenager, but it’s just as fun now. It’s exactly what I’m in the mood for. Tammie and I had a good time! So fun to meet up with blogging friends! If we’re ever in the same neck of the woods, would love to meet up!

Leave a Reply

