Skip to content

Blog-land meetup success

June 30, 2010

Just back from my trip up to Oregon. One of the highlights was getting to meet the lovely and talented Tammie in person!

Again, sorry for the crappy phone-photo, but here we are, with her cute little daughter as well. I think we both hate having our photo taken so it’s kind of awesome that her husband grabbed the camera and offered to take the picture. Otherwise, I’m pretty sure it wouldn’t have happened.

Her delightfully mature and polite son came out to greet me, carrying a hand-lettered sign which I wish I had a photo of. Love the creative spelling of my name! He was that marvel of marvels, a polite, interesting, semi-chatty 12-year-old boy who didn’t seem to mind wandering out to the parking lot to meet his mom’s random friend who just called to say she was lost.

I also got to meet Tammie’s pets:

The chihuahua (barky but surprisingly warm and cute when she fell asleep on my lap)

The bigger dog (Liz Lemon, who was adorable)

And Isabel, the old-lady kitty, who took a liking to my bag (with the down vest) and made herself right at home.

Oh and also Tammie’s uber-friendly husband Jay, who I suppose is not a pet, since he cooks (I saw him!) and I have heard other evidence that he is awesome in other ways as well.

Almost immediately we were at ease and friendly, and decided to take off to check out Powell’s downtown, where we wandered and discussed the merits of short stories (me being dubious) and comparing which books we’d read and liked, or hated (She’s Come Undone, I’m looking at you…)

Then we had some dinner and wandered around a lot more, as I attempted to find our way back to my hotel. Chat chat chat and much lovely girl-time later, I think we now qualify as friends-in-real-life, which is the best possible outcome. Tammie was just as smart, cute, down-t0-earth and thoughtful (and sassy) as you might imagine from her blog. Can’t wait to have her down sometime! Plenty of people-who-look-like-they-are-dressed-in-costume around here. 🙂 (referencing one of Jay’s comments about colorful Portland folks)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 8:21 pm

    im so glad jay was around to take pictures because youre right, i never would have done it on my own.

    i had so, so much fun and i cant wait to head down your way and hang out with you and terri.

  2. June 30, 2010 8:59 pm

    That’s great…so glad that Blog Land meets Reality went well.

    When you gals coming down to Texas?

  3. July 1, 2010 8:14 am

    Tammie: super fun. come on down ANYtime.

    Dani: next time I’m in Texas I’ll look you up! 🙂

  4. July 1, 2010 8:25 am

    What a fun time! One of these days You’ll be in MN or I’ll be in SF 🙂

  5. Theresa permalink
    July 6, 2010 7:04 pm

    So jealous of both of you!!! Wish I could have been in on it, but how awesome that you guys got to meet and have such a great time!

Leave a Reply

