Skip to content

Sudden Change

July 2, 2010


Oregon Trip June 2010, originally uploaded by Daphne Ann.

Well. I didn’t expect that.

Terri heard from her doctor today. It seems, for various reasons, that going gluten-free would benefit her. If you’ve been reading my blog for any amount of time, you’ll know that I’ve been toying with the idea of going gluten-free for my own tummy issues, for a long time.

So, when I got home this afternoon, we decided that the time was right, we both felt up for the challenge, and I went through the kitchen and got rid of every bit of gluten in the kitchen. Cold-turkey. Made up a big box of cereal, flour, crackers, etc. and someone from Freecycle was happy to take it. And then I headed off to three different stores to restock with GF goods. I intend to learn how to use gluten-free flours and experiment with recipes, but for now we have enough substitutes to get us through the transition.

I’m actually kind of excited. Lately it’s been so difficult for Terri to eat, I haven’t been cooking much. I’m hoping that going gluten-free will help.

Time to hit the library website to check out a bunch of GF books!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 10:02 am

    I’ll be interested to see what you learn and how you adapt.

    I have a schizophrenic stomach. It never knows what state to be in.

  2. Adrienne permalink
    July 3, 2010 10:40 am

    Once you figure out what foods work for you, it’s easier than I thought. It’s been almost a year. Crucial supply I didn’t realize until further along: gluten free soy sauce. Soy sauce has wheat in it, usually. I didn’t realize how many marinades have it, never mind most Asian food. And check out Bob’s Red Mill – they have a great line of gluten free mixes for everything from pizza dough to brownies. I hope that it’s a good adventure for you both!

  3. July 3, 2010 2:01 pm

    Good luck going GF. See if your library has Get it Ripe, there are some good GF recipes in there and they are all marked to make them easy to spot.

  4. July 5, 2010 5:21 pm

    Thanks everyone!

    Dani: mine too. so far so good…

    Adrienne: I have heard this about soy sauce. I totally love Bob’s Red Mill; I use them for lots of stuff already. I got a pizza dough mix and some all-purpose baking mix. We’ll see how it goes. Has it made a difference for you?

    Stef: Thanks for the rec! I have some books on request from the library!

    • Adrienne permalink
      July 6, 2010 8:10 pm

      It’s made a difference, for sure. Not as we had expected; it hasn’t helped my migraines. But almost immediately, when I cut gluten out in September, I found that I had just a wee bit of extra energy every day … like a post brisk-walk energy-high type of oomph. And my entire digestive process changed pretty radically (for the better).

      Then I consumed a large number of latkes in December and couldn’t understand why my tummy was so gurgly and mad until someone told me that commercial latkes have flour as a binder. I never looked back 😉 Of course I have a bite of someone’s home made bread or cheesecake crust once in a rare while, but otherwise it’s not worth the wrath of the angry tummy!

Leave a Reply

