Skip to content

A Random List Of Observations

July 9, 2010

Oregon Visit June 2010, originally uploaded by Daphne Ann.

(My brother and his girlfriend, and my mom’s dog, Buck. This picture cracks me up.)

* I go into a lot of people’s homes, since I do a lot of petsitting. I never judge, because God knows my house is never perfect, but I do notice certain trends. Like, some people have zero trouble leaving for two weeks with a sinkful of dirty dishes in the kitchen. I’ve learned over time that many people (more than I would think!) have housecleaners and the housecleaner always comes the day before they get back, and magically the dishes are all clean on my last day of petsitting. Sometimes I can’t help myself and I do the dishes for them. Who me, Virgo?

* My desk is right near one of the bathroom walls. All day long, it’s flush, flush, flush. To say this is motivating would be untruthful. It’s also a little embarrassing to be having a meeting with someone and trying to talk over the flushing, both of us pretending it isn’t happening.

* While poking around looking at houses online, I found a really cute “floating home” that is literally about a half a mile or less from work. It’s probably not at all practical for us, but I kind of fell in love.

Watching the boats go by, keeping a lookout for errant sea lions in the estuary, walking to work… yep, sounds pretty good. (In my fantasy, it is never cold there, and leaks never happen, and it’s really big and roomy.)

* The goodness-knows-how-old peanut butter in my desk drawer has finally gone stale. Rancid? Either way, it’s gross.

* Speaking of peanut butter, has anyone made those flourless peanut butter cookies? Looks like they could not be easier:

We’re one week (or so) into Gluten Free, and Terri loves it. I like it too. I’m going to attempt a batch of cookies this weekend and I thought, well, might as well avoid the whole flour question at all! I have a giant tub of peanut butter just waiting to get used up (don’t worry, this one isn’t rancid). Don’t they sound good?

* I haven’t been able to figure out what book to read next. The ones I’m considering are:

The Children’s Book (A.S. Byatt)
To Kill A Mockingbird
Dykes to Watch Out For (a collection of the apparently much-beloved comic strip which I’ve never read)

I really want to continue the trend of Big Fat Summer Read. Any suggestions?

* I’m going to copy Jodi and make this strip quilt from my strips of summer sheets. I can’t handle making blocks and this looks so easy and fun and casual. Just what I want a summer quilt to be.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 1:09 pm

    If you have not read To Kill a Mockingbird then it would have my vote. I steadfastly railed against it for years, assuming I knew just what it was about, much to my wife’s frustration as it is one of her favorite books. I finally gave in and read it and was impressed and moved and generally just fell in love with the book. As it is the 50th anniversary this would be a great time to give it a read.

    That is a great looking house. I love being near water. I can certainly see the appeal. All houses have problems, I guess people who live like this just decide they can put up with any water related issues for the pleasures involved.

    In our new building, which we move to next month, my office is across from the bathroom. I’m planning on situating my desk so that I cannot see directly out the door. I don’t want to know who is coming and going from the bathroom all day. Our other building on that campus has a conference room next to the men’s restroom. Needless to say all kinds of interesting sounds can be way too easily heard in that location. Quite embarrassing to have visiting guests in meetings in that room.

  2. July 9, 2010 1:25 pm

    You should read them ALL next, because they’re all that good 😛 (I know – aren’t I helpful?)

  3. July 9, 2010 4:38 pm

    My vote: To Kill a Mockingbird. Hands down.

    I’ve made those peanut butter cookies, but considering I’m not a big peanut butter fan, I won’t make a call. I wasn’t impressed, but rarely get impressed over peanut butter.

    That is a cute pic.

  4. July 9, 2010 5:54 pm

    ive made those cookies many times, usually when i want something sweet and there is nothing else in the house. i like them a lot but the consistancy is a bit different from the average cookie, sort of grittier. but i lover peanut butter though and will usually eat anything with it in it.

    my house is never perfect either, but i have trouble going somewhere knowing its dirty. i couldnt leave a sinkful of dirty dishes.

  5. Lua permalink
    July 10, 2010 8:57 am

    That picture cracked me up but this is just priceless-
    “The goodness-knows-how-old peanut butter in my desk drawer has finally gone stale. Rancid? Either way, it’s gross.”
    🙂
    And when in doubt- you should read all the books!

  6. Lara Starr permalink
    July 10, 2010 11:45 am

    Yep I’ve made those cookies too a bunch of times – easy and yummy though agree that the texture is different than trad cookies

  7. July 11, 2010 8:43 am

    Peanut butter cookies are my favourite – I’m intrigued by a flourless recipe, because my mum is allergic to wheat. I might have to check that out… let me know how it goes if you do make them!

  8. July 12, 2010 8:01 am

    That floating home is so nice! is it really too small? No yard, but when sea levels rise you’ll be just fine 😉 And at least all you hear at your desk – I hope – is the flushing and nothing else (how horrible would that be?). You definitely have to read To Kill a Mockingbird. You will so very much love it.

  9. Theresa permalink
    July 12, 2010 3:48 pm

    I’m still snickering over people hearing the toilet flush over the phone. If I was talking business with you, I would have to laugh. And I want to make that quilt too! Thanks for linking to it. I have been dying to make a quilt of some kind for many years but have been too intimidated by the whole process. Her method looks so much quicker and easier that I just might have to give it a go.

  10. July 12, 2010 5:16 pm

    Buck looks so incredibly happy. Ahhhhh!! THIS is the life!!!

  11. July 13, 2010 11:20 am

    Thanks for all the votes, everyone!! I’m putting To Kill A Mockingbird on my list RIGHT NOW.

    I made the cookies but I used half brown sugar and half white, added some vanilla, and a couple spoonfuls of gluten-free baking mix. They turned out pretty awesome.

  12. July 15, 2010 3:51 am

    I can’t wait to see your quilt! I have such fun piecing them together. You go girl.

Leave a Reply

