Skip to content

Crabby

July 13, 2010


crabby 2, originally uploaded by Daphne Ann.

This seems to be a trend lately with a lot of people, but I’m a little crabby today.

However, I had a very productive weekend:

* Finished (almost) my thrifted-sheet quilt top (photos to come!)
* Made GF peanut butter cookies, and also GF banana bread
* Finished (almost) a design project
* Looked at lots of houses
* Did random other tasks I’ve been putting off

So that’s good.

We found a new real estate agent. We have a new lender. We got an adjusted (higher) pre-approval. These are all good things.

But just because they SAY you can afford a higher purchase price does not mean you CAN. Ouch. Deee-pressing.

And then this morning I dropped my makeup box on the floor. Crash!

And fell (stumbled) off my not-very-tall shoes.

Three times. Before 8 a.m.

And then got even more frustrated and anxious about the mortgage stuff. I tell you, I have no idea how people pay for houses here in the Bay Area. After much number-figuring and talking to my best friend and the lender and so forth, I think I understand it and I still think we can do it, but the fact that we were approved for more money doesn’t mean we HAVE that much more. So, hello, reality!! Nice to be back with ya.

Oh well. There are worse things. I’m complaining about something that’s actually a good thing, so shame on me. But still. It’s overwhelming.

Oh, and I haven’t started on any books. I need to go to the library today. And mostly I want to get back into bed and eat chocolate pudding and take a nap. Yep.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 11:23 am

    your crab picture is a perfect fit. hee hee. it made me smile.

    after reading your last post i decided to make those pnut butter cookies too yesterday. my son ate them all already.

    house stuff can be overwhelming and can totally bring you down. hang in there….

  2. July 13, 2010 11:26 am

    I had a serious dip in enthusiasm this morning but I’m bouncing back.

    The peanut butter cookies are quite good. I wish I had one right now!

    I love this crabby picture. I took it in a Whole Foods in Portland.

    My friend Vanessa just emailed me and said, “Don’t be a crabby tabby!” which cracked me up.

  3. July 13, 2010 3:59 pm

    Must be something in the air. Let’s hope the wind shifts soon.

    Good luck with the house hunting. It’s very stressful.

  4. July 14, 2010 7:12 am

    Poor crabby. Househunting is frustrating but good for you for knowing that even though you got pre-approved for a bigger mortgage it doesn’t mean you can really afford it. I used to work in customer service for Wells Fargo mortgage and I can’t tell you how many calls I’d get from new homeowners after they got their first property tax bill and didn’t have the money to pay it. The banks get people in trouble by approving them for more than they realistically can afford and not explaining to them how it all works.

  5. July 14, 2010 12:00 pm

    Agreed – good for you for knowing what you can and can’t pay. Jeff constantly reminded me of that when we were house-hunting in PDX, and it was a lovely reminder every time our first mortgage broker let us know we had great credit and could get approved for whatever we asked. Um, but we can also only pay so much per month… The whole situation was a series of ups and downs and enormously frustrating. (Obviously we didn’t buy, which was a good decision in the end.) Hang in there!

  6. July 14, 2010 12:02 pm

    thanks everyone! I’m feeling better about the househunt but am still crabby.

    Maybe we should be househunting for a vacation cottage?!

  7. July 15, 2010 3:53 am

    Haha — we’re all crabby here in NY. It’s about 90 degrees. Tempers are short. Kids are bored. And I’m sick of getting up for work each morning. Blah! But eventually, we’ll get back in synch. Good luck with the house-hunt. Somedays I just feel like looking at other people’s houses for fun — I know it’s probably become a bit of a chore for you though.

Leave a Reply

