Skip to content

Last few days, in photos

July 24, 2010

(I don’t know why the photos in this are funny… sorry… I think you can click on any of the little ones to enlarge)

Spending time in the city with Dad and his lovely long-time companion, Yvonne.

We had a great time in the city. Yvonne really wanted to ride the cable cars, so we did that and poked around Fisherman’s Wharf, then I took them on a driving tour of the city and we all went out to dinner. When asked how she liked the cable car ride, she said, “It was just like you dream about, when you think about taking a cable car ride through San Francisco…” Then she begged that we go over the Golden Gate Bridge. 🙂

Today we went to Sacramento State to watch my dad compete in the 55-64 age group at the Master’s Championships (pole vault). He did great, got 11’6″, came in 4th. It was hellishly hot out — at least 100, and the stands were completely unshaded. Yvonne and I broiled but luckily we had a shade umbrella and lots of water. I was so proud to be watching my dad, I cried a few times.

And eating gluten-free peanut-butter cookies, of course.

(sorry for the bad lighting)

Sunday, I rest. Mostly. It’s been busy. Now I have to go nurse my sunburn. And drink some more water.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 12:10 pm

    So glad you had a wonderful long-weekend with your dad and Yvonne. It’s obvious he loves you very much, as you do him. 🙂

  2. July 25, 2010 8:44 pm

    your dad and his lady friend are too cute.

    its been hot here lately too. im ready for cooler weather. now.

  3. July 26, 2010 8:30 am

    4th place! You’re dad is so awesome!

  4. July 26, 2010 12:01 pm

    What fun times! Good for the soul.

    As far as hot weather goes, Houston has had 114* heat indexes for weeks now. Oddly, I don’t mind when I can wear a bathing suit every day.

  5. July 26, 2010 7:14 pm

    Mom: he’s a good dad. 🙂

    Tammie: they are cute. it’s not hot here in Oakland, but it was HOT in Sacramento. I was glad to get back over here.

    Stef: he is awesome!!

    Dani: Yuck, that sounds horrible. Glad you are enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

