Skip to content

List Three: Free Or Inexpensive Things That Make Me Happy

August 4, 2010

For Tammie’s list, click here. These are great fun to compile. I have a couple repeats off Tammie’s list. Great minds think alike, and all that.

1. Rainy days. My favorite kind are the really, really rainy stormy days that last for at least 24 hours. Those don’t happen too often here but I LOVE IT when it does. I hope our new house has the kind of roof where you can hear the rain.

2. Peet’s Tea. Oh, we love Peet’s at our house. My favorite is the Russian Caravan. Terri can’t live without her Jasmine Green Tea.

3. Library books. I think I might die without the library.

4. Pandora radio. For when I’m in the mood for something like “___” but don’t want to bother with iTunes.

5. Streaming Netflix. Now I can watch old episodes of The Cosby Show whenever I want.

6. Driving my car at night with a favorite song playing really loud, and really belting it out.

7. Cheese samples at the grocery store. I don’t regularly buy cheese anymore but I figure a cube or two can’t hurt.

8. Drugstore lipstick. This has saved many a day for me. My name is Daphne, and I am a lipstick addict.

9.  Thrifting. This can be super-cheap or not-as-cheap, depending on what I find. But a brand-new, tags-on, good-label shirt for $1.50? That makes me happy.

10. Making art, especially if it’s something I’m comfortable doing. New art is scary. Familiar art is fun.

11. Having coffee in a coffeeshop with a friend.

12. Making the cat dance. What? You can’t tell me you haven’t made your pet dance once or twice. Cleo can really bust a move sometimes.

13. Driving Buddy (the cop car) around with Terri. It never fails to crack us up.

14. A hot bath, a good book, and a glass of cold water.

15. Mountain View Cemetery. I will miss being a block away, whenever we do move.

16. A ride on a cable car in San Francisco. It’s not as cheap as it used to be but it’s a pretty great thrill for $5, every so often.

17. My collection of vintage jewelry, mostly from my grandmother. I have weeded it out through the years (lots of tacky stuff among the genuinely beautiful and valuable). I have a whole dresser drawer devoted to it. I’d like to start collecting it again, I think. I’ve been wanting to ‘collect’ something (but something actually useful or interesting, and certainly not expensive) for awhile, and I think vintage costume jewelry might be the winner. I was also contemplating a collection of owl-shaped salt-and-pepper shakers. Creating a collection wouldn’t be free, but it could be inexpensive. I love bargain-hunting.

18. Tidepools. I don’t get to see these much right now (there aren’t good tidepools close by) but I do love them.

19. Birdwatching. Both Terri and I love birds. We are not at all serious about it. We just like to watch birds. We also like to watch dogs. And cats. And pretty much any animal.

20. Peanut M&Ms. I’m actually not that into chocolate, and if I’m going to have a chocolate bar, I am kind of a chocolate snob. But for sheer cheap candy joy, I love peanut M&Ms.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2010 8:46 pm

    regarding number 1: these are my favorite too. when it rains when i wake up and go to sleep.

    regarding number 2: i have yet to go into a peets. i need to. we’ve been doing the dutch bros. which is ok, but not a great selection.

    regarding number 12: love this. we are also big on dressing the cat in old baby clothes and making the dogs walk like people.

    regarding number 13: your car is a huge topic of conversation around these parts. whenever we see an old cop car someone yells out “theres daphne and terri.”

  2. August 4, 2010 9:33 pm

    Tammie: I love the rain. My room was right next to a fiberglass-covered porch when I was growing up — such a great sound.

    Peets: You. Must. Go. They have amazing coffee, and really fantastic tea. It’s worth the little bit extra you pay. Dutch Bros. is okay, but Peet’s is the place. Everyone in Portland raves about Stumptown but I kinda prefer Peet’s.

    I told Terri that we and Buddy are famous at your house and she laughed and laughed. You are welcome at our house anytime. 🙂

  3. Lara Starr permalink
    August 4, 2010 9:56 pm

    Such a great list!

    I’ll do 10

    1) TV – Sorry h8ers, but I love the cool, grey glow of the tube
    2) Library books – esp when I’ve prevailed upon the online request service
    3) NPR podcasts – I’ll start loading ’em up again when I replace my MP3 player
    4) Garage Sales – even when I don’t buy anything I love poking around in other people’s business
    5) Craft Projects – I can only craft when I have a reason to, but when I do I throw myself into it
    6) Facebook – people crack me up
    7) Free Summer Outdoor Movies – wish I could go to more….
    8) Eating outside on a warm night
    9) The Ross Valley Reporter – free weekly local paper, the police log is a riot
    10) Taking a walk with my kid – we so some of our best talking when we’re walking

  4. August 5, 2010 4:19 am

    Of course the dog dances in our house and she gets dressed up in tie-dyed t-shirts and Mardi Gras beads. The kids do this to her (not me). However, they used to leave me holding the leash as they ran on the school bus.

    And rainy days will always make my list too.

    • August 6, 2010 10:50 am

      That’s adorable. And yes, rainy days make everything good.

  5. August 5, 2010 7:43 am

    Rainy days, library books and dancing cats, love them! When grew up my room looked out onto the tin roofed patio at the back of the house. When it rained the sound was so soothing. The cats at our house both dance and do a little boxing. Why they allow James to do these things to them I have no idea but they seem to love it.

    • August 6, 2010 10:51 am

      Don’t you just love that sound? Our apartment is (ironically) too well-insulated on the roof for the rain sound to come through (although the walls are apparently made of paper).

      My cat Cleo lets me make her dance but I don’t think she loves it. 🙂

  6. August 5, 2010 8:31 am

    I love a rainy day…if I don’t have to work. Being inside with 24 kindergartners all day isn’t fun in any way, shape, or form.

    Cheese samples. Ha! So true.

    I’d love to see your vintage jewelry. I used to have a few pieces of my grandmother’s but haven’t a clue as to where it is now. So sad.

    • August 6, 2010 10:51 am

      Rain + kindergartners is probably not a great combo. 😦

      I should do a vintage jewelry post one of these days…

Leave a Reply

