Skip to content

Ten Random Things I Can’t Stop Thinking About

August 5, 2010

More of List Week.

1. It’s always number one, isn’t it? The househunt. Checking the listings every day, going to look at places fairly often, etc. It’s always on our minds. We are in constant dialog about The House. And do we want a house, or a townhouse? And is 1.5 bathrooms enough, or do we need 2 full bathrooms? And how much yard? You get the picture.

2. Shopping/Fashion. So, this happens to me every year about this time, and it’s even worse this year because I kind of skipped last year (as the Year Of Ultra Thrift). I think it’s the vestiges of Back To School time. But this year I do have an excuse — I have no chilly-weather shoes, because I had to get rid of them all, and I only replaced the bare minimum of summer shoes. So now I have to look for a few pairs of closed-toe shoes or boots. I also recently got to that point in my closet-purging where I am actually out of things to wear. I’m all stocked up for summer… unfortunately, we never actually got a summer. I’m hoping we’ll have Indian Summer in September and October so I can wear them, but if not, short-sleeve-shirts under sweaters are good for the Bay Area temperate fall and early winter. But I do need a few heavier sweaters for my office. It is seriously cold there. And we know how cold it is at my house. Plus we’ve been watching Mad Men and I looooooooooooove Joan’s clothes. So inspiring.

3. Gluten-free brownies. A year or two ago I went on the search for the Perfect Brownie recipe. I found it; but now I have to find the Perfect Gluten-Free Brownie recipe. We’ve tried two mixes: Bob’s Red Mill and Trader Joe’s. Both were good. Right now Trader Joe’s has an edge, but only because I think I overbaked the Bob’s Red Mill ones. Once I know what’s *possible* then I can experiment with an actual recipe. Or, just buy the mix, I guess. I’m really not into mixes, but maybe I can make an exception for this.

4. Really bad books from the 1970s and early 80s. I just read I’m Dancing As Fast As I Can, which was kind of painful (review coming after List Week). I don’t know why I’m drawn to these. They are so bad. I keep remembering other ones — usually ones that have been turned into miniseries at some point.  The Thorn Birds was actually good, however. I think I might be sensing a reread of Clan of the Cave Bear coming up soon, though.

5. Fleas. Our cats have fleas. It is wreaking all sorts of heartbreaking havoc on our house, including Katie pulling out giant chunks of hair from her back (she is almost bald in a few places). Prescription flea medication for our little old ladies is on its way!!

6. My hair. I wish I was the sort of person who could just pick a hairstyle and be done with it for years on end. I seem to need to change it every six months or so. I think I’ve had this haircut for almost a year. Time for a change. My super-cheap hairdresser is somewhat limited in her talents but I think I’ll risk… asking for layers. Wish me luck.

7. My theoretical art room. I have lots of plans for my art room, which is (to me) a major feature of our theoretical house. It will have a desk/table/workspace, a corner for my easel, lots of storage shelves for supplies (if not an entire closet), and a floor that is easy to clean. Also possibly a small table for my sewing machine. I think it will actually have five walls, to accommodate everything, and also have two walk-in closets. 🙂  I have been wanting to do messier projects too — plaster casts, building things, etc. So we also need a garage. You know. For all those life-size sculptures I’m going to do.

8. My car. It has a funny sound/vibration. I got the alignment adjusted a couple of months ago and it hasn’t been the same since. It’s just really really subtle, but it’s there. This makes me kind of sick. I love my car, and I take really good care of it. So I think it needs a trip to the tire store for a second opinion. Soon.

9. Taking a Patient Advocate Certificate series. I read an article in Oprah about patient advocates and I thought, “Hey. I really need to do that.” The courses are not expensive and there’s a strong possibility my work will pay for them, and then I’m going to explore how to bring my new knowledge to my current position. I love my job and my company and I really want to figure out a way to continue growing there. I think Patient Advocacy could be extremely useful both in my home life and also at work (I work for a mental health company), and it’s a good fit for my personality and skills as well. So. We’ll see. I get easily obsessed by new career directions. But I think this one is pretty easy to move forward with.

10. I’m also sort of planning ahead for Halloween and Christmas. Every year I try to make Halloween bigger and Christmas smaller. I love dressing up, so I have to plan my costume. Last year I was the Other Mother from Coraline. Such fun! I have no idea what I’m going to do this year. And every Christmas my friend Lara and I make some sort of easily-multiplied craft or edible project for all those holiday gifts to work-friends, neighbors, etc. Last year we made biscotti and a few pieces of jewelry. The year before, we made marshmallows and packaged them in cute bags. This year… so far, no clue. It must be appreciated by both men and women, keep well (sometimes we make the things in October or November), and be super-cheap (our budget is about $25 each for the entire project, and that’s the top end of the budget) Cookies are a pain and everyone gets too many cookies that time of year. We did candy one year and it was kind of a fiasco. So. Perhaps… homemade gourmet salted caramel corn? An easy ornament? Bookmarks?

That’s about it. I should come up with my own list tomorrow but Tammie is so good at coming up with them I might be lazy and see what she does first. 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 8:39 pm

    oh god. i still have no idea what im doing for tomorrow!

    fleas: ugh. this was always such a hassle in florida. we had to treat all the pets year round. it was constantly flea and tick season. i havent had to do in once since moving here. im keeping my fingers crossed for continued luck. i hope you get your fleas under control soon.

  2. August 5, 2010 8:46 pm

    I hate fleas! We *rarely* have them but for some reason both kitties have had fleas this year. I must be bringing them home from petsitting or something. I think we’ll just give them a 3-month round of treatment and get a new rug in the bedroom (we just have a cheap-o rug in there so no biggie). Yuck. Poor kitties.

  3. August 5, 2010 9:09 pm

    I can’t stop thinking about the end of summer and the start of another school year.

    I’d rather be thinking about fleas.

  4. August 6, 2010 7:05 am

    Oh no, fleas! I hate fleas. Flea bites and I do not get along. I’m a bit allergic. When we had a dog we used fleas stuff on him every summer religiously and it worked great, never a flea. I think it also helps that winters are so cold here that fleas are not year-round. Good luck getting rid of them! And good luck finding a new hairstyle. You must post a photo after it happens!

  5. D'Arcy permalink
    August 6, 2010 8:25 am

    I almost suggested a trip to the hairstylist while I was there – I need a haircut so badly! Might get one this weekend…

  6. August 6, 2010 9:14 am

    dani: you can think about my fleas, if you want.

    stef: I always get bit. Terri doesn’t, apparently. I will post a photo when I get my haircut! Maybe I will do it in a week or so.

    D’arcy: oh dang. you should have!

  7. August 6, 2010 9:48 am

    I think my favorite bad books from the 70s/80s include works by Sidney Sheldon (Master of the Game!), Judith Krantz, and Jackie Collins. SOOOO trashy!

    • August 6, 2010 10:49 am

      Scruples is one of my all-time favorite trashy books!!

  8. August 9, 2010 7:01 pm

    I can still make my fave brownie recipe, just subbing Bob’s Rem Mill flour (either all purpose + xanthum gum or baking). It’s a fudgy recipe to begin w/, so it works!

Leave a Reply

