Skip to content

OUR NEW HOUSE

August 9, 2010

No, seriously. I think we just bought a house!!!

It’s a beautifully restored 1955 open-floor-plan jewel of a house. It’s small, but I think it will be perfect for us. 3 bed, 2 bath, big lot, and OMG you guys, check out the kitchen:

Pardon me while I break out into hysterics again as I look at that 5-burner stove and my ideal freezer-on-the-bottom fridge (which comes with the house). I really can’t believe we got this house!! We are looking at moving in September! I’m going to break my exclamation point key!!!!!

Here’s our new beautiful backyard. There’s a redwood tree, fruit trees (including an orange tree!) and a lilac bush (which I love, love, love). I will have to plant a lemon tree ASAP, and we’ll think all winter where to put the garden. I think back in that corner with the miniature picket fence (take out that little tree/bush thingie?).

Anyway. Wow. Talk about surreal. I can’t believe it. The price is a long commute for me, but hey, lots of books on CDs, right?

For more pictures: http://www.flickr.com/photos/daphneann/sets/72157624676465542/with/4870850226/

25 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 5:17 pm

    yay!!!! i cant believe its finally happening. YAY!!!!

  2. Adrienne permalink
    August 9, 2010 7:36 pm

    it’s SO CUTE! ours is a ’52 and not nearly as open. good on ya’!!! where is it?

    • August 9, 2010 9:47 pm

      It’s out in Livermore, which will be a commute but I’m actually kind of excited about it. There is a whole new arts/downtown thing happening there and I want to be a part of it.

  3. August 9, 2010 8:49 pm

    Not only am I so happy for you and Terri, but the house looks really lovely! and that kitchen – oh, I am so envious! all that space and cupboards and new appliances! Oh Daphne, you so deserve this. I’m so very happy for you. Congratulations!!

    • August 9, 2010 9:48 pm

      Thank you, Susan! I am so excited about this kitchen. Seriously, we’re considering just moving the bed into the kitchen to start, because I want to look at it all the time. Thank you so much for your wonderful wishes. I feel incredibly, deeply blessed that this happened for us.

  4. August 9, 2010 9:08 pm

    CONGRATS!!!!!!!

    Very happy for you. The Universe plays nice. Yes.

    • August 9, 2010 9:48 pm

      Thank you!! When you said that you LOVED your house, I thought to myself, I hope I have a house one day that I LOVE. I didn’t think our first house would be it, but I can tell you, it’s LOVE.

  5. August 9, 2010 9:33 pm

    WOW! I’m delurking to say congrats to you two 🙂 It’s absolutely gorgeous!!

    • August 9, 2010 9:49 pm

      Thank you!! And thanks for delurking! We are terribly excited. And nervous. And freaking out a little. 🙂

  6. August 9, 2010 11:53 pm

    Congratulations!! I’m so happy for you and Terri 😀

    • August 10, 2010 2:36 pm

      Thank you! Wish you could come over in person and have a book-reading party.

  7. August 10, 2010 3:06 am

    It happened! Really happened!! This is so exciting and that stove is to die for. I’m swooning for you.

    • August 10, 2010 2:37 pm

      I can’t believe it, myself, and won’t really believe it until the keys are in our hands. I have to say that I’m swooning over the kitchen too.

  8. August 10, 2010 5:25 am

    Oh wow, congratulations! What a beautiful place! I am suffering kitchen envy already. And that backyard has so much potential! I love the idea of a lemon tree. 🙂 Happy happy for both of you!

  9. August 10, 2010 8:01 am

    Hooray! Congratluations! It is beautiful and what a perfect kitchen for you! You must be sure to send me your new address

  10. trapunto permalink
    August 10, 2010 2:25 pm

    Yay! Ooh, that kitchen is huge!! And a shady retreat!! And I think you will love those deep sheltering eaves and the upper windows. My granny’s house is like that (they built theirs in 1955 too, come to think of it), so I’m biased, but it makes the rooms feel so airy and serene with the indirect light. Perfect for doing art….

    Again! Yay!

  11. August 10, 2010 2:38 pm

    It’s a surprisingly huge kitchen for such a small house. But that is just fine with me! I think we are really going to enjoy this house. It feels good in my heart.

  12. August 10, 2010 2:40 pm

    WOW. That’s beautiful, Daphne! Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!! (I’m going to break my exclamation point for you too!)

    • August 10, 2010 8:48 pm

      Mine is broken so I’m using the question mark instead????????

  13. D'Arcy permalink
    August 10, 2010 5:44 pm

    Truly fantastic. I am so happy the Universe has recognized what a wonderful person you are and is giving you some of what you deserve. Makes me glad you didn’t get the first one. Maybe next time I’m out there we can have a book-reading party at your house?

    • August 10, 2010 8:48 pm

      Aw, thanks, D’Arce! Can’t wait for you to see it!

  14. August 11, 2010 6:51 am

    SWEEeeeeeeEEEEEET!!!!! happy moving! and happy cooking in that gorgeous kitchen.

  15. August 12, 2010 8:08 am

    Congratulations – look at all that counter space and that is a beautiful yard. 🙂

Leave a Reply

