Skip to content

apricot flower

August 14, 2010

(Behr paint color: Apricot Flower)

After an incredibly stressful week, both good stress and stressful-stress, I needed a day to just enjoy the anticipation of our new house.

You only buy your very first home only once, right? So today I just played and played, with ideas and wish-lists and window-shopping (online) and enjoyable list-making, and had a grand old time.

I’m considering painting my new art room a sort of apricot color. I want it to be slightly unusual, but always cheerful and inspiring. Apricot is such a pretty color. Terri is choosing the paint for the master bedroom and bath, and then we will probably just see what color looks good for the guest room inbetween the two rooms. You know, for when all the doors are open at once. No clashing allowed.

So the things I’ve been listing today are along the lines of:

  • Garden ideas: compost bins, fruit trees (avocado? lemon? apricot?), raised beds, horse manure, hummingbird habitat
  • Garden tools: a push (reel) lawnmower, shovels, pruning shears, edgers, rake, sprinklers
  • Patio furniture: wooden table and chairs, chaise lounge with overstuffed cushion, hammock, firepit
  • Paint colors: bedrooms, kitchen, baths, living room… warm beautiful colors that make us happy

I had way too much fun thinking about this. And then I danced a jig (mentally) as I considered the upcoming luxuries: a dishwasher, a garbage disposal, a family-sized fridge, a 5-burner gas stove, a washer and dryer, a garage, a second bathroom. I considered pet doors and doorbells, aromatic herb borders and butterfly bushes.

Pretty much ever since I could wrap my brain around the idea of having my own house, I’ve been waiting and waiting for this time. I can look through Better Homes & Gardens and make plans rather than just gaze longingly at cottage gardens. I can take avid interest in Sunset’s instructions on how to build the ideal compost bin, and what flowers to plant in which zone (we’ll be Zone 17, I think).

When we got the news that our offer had been accepted, I cried. Even though we’ve been looking seriously since February, I really didn’t believe this would actually happen. But it is. This week has been full of signing papers, writing of large checks (and subsequent anxiety attacks), and making plans for a long commute. However, today I decided to just embrace the joy and fun of it.

I’m so excited. I AM SO EXCITED.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 8:47 pm

    that apricot color is so pretty. (um, speaking of pretty rooms and decorating, have you been over to posie gets cozy lately and seen her newly redorated space? gorgeous.)

    i really miss composting. im quite jealous of your future composting.

    • August 15, 2010 9:11 am

      I have! I actually made a note of that paint color for the guest bedroom. So pretty!!

      I am debating how to start the compost pile. So I just start it in a corner, or do I wait until I go to the store and get the boards and put it together? Hmm.

  2. Mom permalink
    August 14, 2010 9:10 pm

    You and Terri so deserve this house, and all the happy anticipations. Mama could not be happier for you, over and over again 🙂

  3. August 15, 2010 11:27 am

    So happy for you. Getting a new home, especially when it’s *the one* is always so exciting.

    Keep us updated with pics! I’m such a snoop.

  4. August 15, 2010 5:24 pm

    You must be the queen of lists….I’m impressed. You’re right though, you only buy a first home once. Do it right!

  5. August 16, 2010 7:29 am

    Like the apricot color. I’m glad you are having fun planning. don’t forget the rain barrel!

Leave a Reply

