Skip to content

more happy news

August 16, 2010

House passed inspection today with flying colors. Only very minor things that we can (but don’t HAVE to) fix when we move in.

I was giddy afterwards. It seemed like at every opportunity for something to be wrong, it was right. Just more signs that this is the right house for us.

Drove around town, too. I was pleased. We are only .5 miles from a large grocery store and only .5 miles in the other direction from a library branch. That was one thing I was going to be VERY sad about, leaving our current apartment — we’re only 4 blocks from a great library branch. But now we’ll be just about the same distance, and it’s set in a nice park, with swimming pools. Scenario: ride my bike to the library, get a book, sit by the pool. Um, hello! Perfect summer day!

I have lots of plant identifying to do. I took lots of photos of leaves and plants in the hopes that I can get a head start. Doesn’t really matter. But it’s fun to sleuth. If you’d like to see more detailed photos of the house, try here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/daphneann/sets/72157624741035192/

Excuse me while I go dance the happy dance for a bit.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 5:36 pm

    Keep dancing! This is a very exciting time.

  2. August 16, 2010 5:49 pm

    i agree with jodi! SO SO SO happy for you both. it seems like everything is going so smoothly now…….

    • August 16, 2010 6:05 pm

      It does, right? I’m just crossing my fingers that it continues for the rest of the journey. So far, so good!

  3. August 16, 2010 8:55 pm

    Woot!

  4. August 16, 2010 9:24 pm

    This is so awesome!

  5. August 17, 2010 7:05 am

    Hooray! One more hurdel jumped! We still have some minor things from our hosue inspection 11 years ago that we haven’t fixed. heh.

  6. August 18, 2010 5:15 am

    Happy dancing! I’m enjoying these posts and so glad that you are sharing your house excitement.

  7. August 18, 2010 12:25 pm

    Wow, congratulations!!

  8. August 18, 2010 3:22 pm

    I am super, super happy for you! The pics look lovely and I’m thrilled that you aren’t having to give up your close proximity to a library. That just seals the deal. Congratulations!

  9. trapunto permalink
    August 20, 2010 11:28 am

    Yay for passed inspections!

    I love trying to figure out what plants are, but I think our regions are too different. I was almost thinking ficus or viburnum or Ilex Glabra for some of the glossy, smooth edged leaves. And I’m pretty sure the bright pink blooming tree is crape myrtle. They are slow growing–wish mine were that big! That Jade garden is darling! What I can definitely tell is that someone put a lot of thought into the backyard plantings, since they aren’t things you can immediately identify and there is a lot of variety.

Leave a Reply

