Skip to content

wild kingdom

August 20, 2010

Do any of you other Gen-Xer’s remember Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingom, with Marlin Perkins? I didn’t even have to look up his name, that how much I loved that show. It came on either before or after The Muppet Show, which I also adored with a passion. And which also, sadly, fell right at dinner-time, which was HORRIBLE because we never ate dinner in front of the TV, and I hated to miss my Muppets.

Anyway. I digress.

I’m heading to Omaha next week for a few days of work at our Nebraska programs. It always cracks me up to see the Mutual of Omaha sign downtown. Thankfully this will be a not-too-taxing work trip (I hope) and our hotel will be right downtown. I anticipate the schedule will be something like this:

9-5: work (not too taxing)

5-7: wander, dinner

7-onward: bed with book

Sounds good to me.

And then my brother and his girlfriend are coming to visit for two days, so busy busy busy but hopefully I won’t be too tired. It has been a pretty stressful couple of weeks and we are getting a little tired of signing papers. Sign here, sign here, and here, and some more signing here. I keep telling myself that it’s less than a month to go before closing. Then we still have to move, but I don’t think that will be too bad. We pared down so much when we moved before, and haven’t accumulated too much more in the past 2 years. And we are going to hire movers, which will help a lot.

It’s all good stuff, but my plan of rest-and-relax got a little upended by suddenly finding Our House, so I will just have grab my resting-and-relaxing in little bits and pieces.

I also think I’ve been spending far too much time messing around on the computer. I don’t know why I keep reading articles instead of my books. I think I’m feeling so distracted/tired/stressed that somehow I feel that short articles are all I really want to read, but in fact I think if I read less online and more of my book, I’d feel better. So I’m going to try that. It’s only been since I got this new fancy computer (which I love) that I’ve been feeling overwhelmed with screen-time, so I think I need a little break. I’m not taking it with me on my trip and I bet that will help a lot.

So all we are waiting for with the house is final loan approval and to find out what (minor) repairs the sellers are doing. I think? It’s so confusing. I am so very grateful we have our amazing Realtor and mortgage broker — they have made this process so much easier than it could have been. We had such crappy people before. Should find out all that stuff next week and then it’s countdown time!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2010 7:35 pm

    Yes. Totally remember that show.

    Have fun. Unplug. Try not to worry.

    Ready for the countdown to begin!

  2. August 20, 2010 7:57 pm

    i remember the first time i saw a commercial for mutual of omaha (the business not the show) i was so shocked that it was an actual thing and not just a show about animals.

    have a fun and safe work trip.

    ive been trying to stay off the computer a bit more lately too. i find when i get sucked in too much it brings me down and definitely stresses me out. i have to relearn that lesson every few months.

  3. Lara Starr permalink
    August 21, 2010 10:56 am

    Def. remember that show – Perkins always sent Jim Fowler to do the dangerous stuff!

  4. August 22, 2010 1:20 pm

    I used to love Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom. It aired here just before the Wonderful World of Disney on Sunday nights. My brothers and I were regulars. As long as Jim wasn’t wrestling snakes, I was good with it. Have a great trip.

  5. August 23, 2010 8:11 am

    Loved Wild Kingdom! The whole family watched it together. Hope you have a good trip to Omaha!

Leave a Reply

