Skip to content

things are a little crazy around here

August 27, 2010

Which translates into “quiet” here on the blog.

Nebraska was good. I saw a giant praying mantis that scared the crap out of me. It was peaceful. It was hot and muggy. It was a pretty good trip.

Got home to the s**t hitting the fan with hiccups in the home-buying process. The less said the better, but it was no fun at all and has been super-duper-stressful from the time I walked in the door Wednesday night to around noon today. All’s well now (I think) but we are so, so, so ready for this un-fun part to be over. It is WAY too much stress — our poor realtor and loan person were frantic as well. Thank goodness we have a good team. Anyway — I think it’s all good now but it’s been yucky.

I’m trying to figure out how to transition my pet-sitting. I’ll have a significantly longer commute now so it’s not as practical to see critters on the weekends, but I really don’t want to let them go, either. I am just going to sit tight and have faith that the solution will come to me after we move. At any rate, after a period of transition it will be fine either way. I’m going to start it up out in our new area as well, so maybe there’s just a few months of more commuting than I’d like as I figure out what to do.

So right now I am happy that we are almost done with the super-stressful part of the homebuying process (I hope?), but knowing that next is the packing part! In fact, the packing part is coming RIGHT UP since we are supposed to close on the 13th or 14th, which is unbelievably close.

So we’re busy. And now I’m going to go de-stress some more. Posting may be light through September as we get everything set up and moved.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2010 8:15 pm

    ugh. i really hope the worst of it is over for you. nothing can rarely just go smoothly can it? sheesh. hang in there.

    • August 30, 2010 3:36 pm

      It’s like, this has gone really smoothly except for these GIANT stressful bumps in the road. I could have done without them. Yep.

  2. August 27, 2010 8:26 pm

    I know, right? Ugh. I’m hoping all the major over-the-top stress is done, and we can move on to your regular run-of-the-mill housebuying and moving stress. Which will seem like a vacation, after the last 2 days.

  3. August 28, 2010 12:22 am

    We’ll miss you — but totally understand. Hang in there. It will all come together. I think you’ll enjoy the unpacking part more, knowing that this you’re in your home. Try to enjoy.

    • August 30, 2010 3:36 pm

      That is a good perspective!! I think once we get started with the packing, it will be all smiles and happiness. And the unpacking, of course. The best part.

  4. August 28, 2010 1:00 pm

    I think a case of hiccups are a prerequisite to the whole home buying gig.

    I understand needing to step back from Blog Land. I’m in the midst of such a move myself.

    Hang in there!

    • August 30, 2010 3:37 pm

      Sometimes things get busy! But I can never stay away long…

  5. August 30, 2010 8:09 am

    Glad the trip to NE went well. Sorry you returned to so much stress. It’s good to get all of the stressful stuff out of the way first, then the closing will go off without a hitch.

    • August 30, 2010 3:37 pm

      Thank you for the optimistic thought. I am sure you are right! 🙂

  6. August 30, 2010 11:25 am

    Good luck with everything! Don’t forget to 1. breathe and 2. enjoy the frantic a little bit every now and again!

Leave a Reply

