Skip to content

RIP!!

September 3, 2010

A short non-house related post to say that I am definitely IN for RIP V! This is my favorite time of year and my favorite sort of reading, and although I know I will be busy busy with moving and the house, I still want to participate.

Carl over at Stainless Steel Droppings hosts this every year and it is always so much fun to see what everyone reads. I think it will be a little more autumny out where we are moving so I am sure I will be in the mood for some mysterious spooky stories.

Even thought I am not sure how much I will be able to participate, I’ll do Peril The First: Four books that fit the broad definition of “scary.”

I haven’t had time to really think about my list, but here’s a start:

1. I’ll start my new commute off on the right foot by listening to the audio recording of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

2. Dracula In Love: because it looks gothic and sexy and fun. It might be really stupid. Let’s hope not.

3. Perhaps this is the year I re-read Rebecca. I haven’t read it in at least 15, maybe 20 years.

4. I’ll have a new library to explore and I’m *sure* they will have some good scary YA that I will want to check out.

5. Haunted, by James Herbert. I liked The Magic Cottage pretty well, so let’s try another.

We’ll see how far I get on these.

I always have such high hopes and expectations for scary books but they rarely come through for me. I think I’m too jaded, which is SAD because I love the feeling of reading a scary book and being truly scared. I often wonder what happened for me that I’m haven’t been scared in a book or a movie in a long time. Maybe real life got too scary, and fiction can’t come close any more. Anyway, I think this year I will aim for enjoying the overall mood of the story, and really look for gothic, moody books rather than expecting anything genuinely scary.

I have to say that I’d really like to explore Charles de Lint’s YA novels some more as well — I actually really enjoyed The Blue Girl a lot more than I would have expected. So maybe another something by him.

We move on the 15th and I have a few books I’m trying to finish up (and review) before we move, so I’ll start after that. Great incentive to go get my new library card!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 5:12 pm

    I’ve been reading the Harry Potter series (since I’m the only human who hasn’t read them) from book 1 through book 7, in succession. I’m on book 7.

    I don’t know what I’ll do when I have to actually put thought into what book to read next.

    • September 8, 2010 5:02 pm

      I may have to reread all of those soon. I’ve read the first two or three a few times, but the rest of them are so huge that I devoted the time to them yet.

  2. September 4, 2010 5:59 am

    “Rebecca” — now that’s a classic. I haven’t read that in such a long time. It would make a perfect Fall read.

  3. September 6, 2010 7:09 pm

    Lots of good books to read! Enjoy!

  4. September 7, 2010 7:25 am

    I just watched the Hitchcock movie of Rebecca over the weekend. It was marvelous.

    • September 8, 2010 5:03 pm

      I will wait for a stormy night and then watch it. Sounds perfect!

  5. September 8, 2010 11:36 am

    I love the Hitchcock Rebecca! And the book’s great too 🙂

    • September 8, 2010 5:03 pm

      The book is an all-time favorite; I’ve read it a few times… but not for a LONG time!

  6. September 8, 2010 4:58 pm

    I much prefer to get the moody, gothic atmosphere than to be truly scared, although I don’t mind a good scare. I’m glad you are joining in on RIP this year. Based on my comment on your Sweetness review you might want to consider reading the next book, Weed that Strings the Hangman’s Bag for the challenge. I’m going to try to get it in myself.

    • September 8, 2010 5:04 pm

      I know what you mean. Moody and dark is always effective, whereas truly scary is a rare thing. I can’t wait to read that next book. I hope Flavia is in it!!

      • September 8, 2010 5:13 pm

        It is indeed another of Flavia’s mysteries. I understand he plans on writing more mysteries in the future with our new favorite slueth.

Leave a Reply

