Skip to content

My Plan For The Rest Of The Year

September 8, 2010

So. In one week, if all goes well, we will be moving!! Unbelievable.

House is getting packed (slowly). We signed all the important papers yesterday. And sent away all our money today. Although, as my friend said, it’s just going into a long-term investment. Right? Right.

Last night, after all those papers were signed, a miracle happened. I took a hot bath (after packing a bunch more boxes), then felt so tired that I went to bed and fell asleep kind of early, and I slept so hard all night long. This has not happened in months. I have had a hard time falling sleep for weeks and weeks, which is unusual for me. So this tells me that hopefully this (seemingly) endless stress might be coming to a (sort of) end soon. And that will be a good thing.

So, for the rest of the year, here is my plan.

  1. Unpack the house by Christmas (what? yes, I’m taking it easy)
  2. Decide on some paint colors (Terri is mostly in charge of this). Maybe paint one room. Maybe.
  3. Plant a few winter veggies. Maybe. Mostly, think about where to plant spring garden.
  4. Plant a lemon tree.
  5. Buy some stuff (but not too much stuff). A push lawn mower, for instance.
  6. Bounce on some nice couches. Think about buying one.
  7. Make a bunch of yummy food in the new kitchen.
  8. Not work too hard. At all. Like, be a slacker.
  9. Read a bunch of books. A big bunch. And get into audiobooks for my new commute (I’m currently listening to The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, and can I just say I think I will have no problem with the audiobook thing?)
  10. Decorate for the holidays. All of them. Make some of these. They end up like this.

Yep. That’s about it. I’m going to be an optimist and say that it’s time to put aside the worry and stress and struggle and just enjoy my favorite time of year, in our new all-our-own house, and really have a good time. How’s that sound?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 7:27 pm

    i think this all sounds wonderful and totally do-able.

    • September 9, 2010 9:24 am

      it sounds good, right? Kind of fun, even… and I can’t wait to make those little pumpkin-heads…

  2. September 8, 2010 7:40 pm

    Good plan. Good plan indeed.

  3. September 9, 2010 3:18 am

    I thinks it’s great that you lay out these expectations — and certainly within reason. If more gets accomplished, you can give yourself a big pat on the back. Enjoy these early days in your new home.

    • September 9, 2010 9:25 am

      Thank you! I plan on really enjoying it in every way possible. I have problems taking it easy, but I’m going to make an effort to just relax and enjoy this experience.

  4. September 9, 2010 10:45 am

    Wonderful plans for the rest of the year Daphne! And about the unpacking, we lived in our house for 8 years before the final box was unpacked. That’s where that lamps went! And those crystal water goblets that we assumed had been lost or broken. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

