Skip to content

meet my new workout buddy (and, photos!)

September 19, 2010

My new Scott reel mower. I love it.

It wasn’t as tough to push as I’d feared. It was smooth, easy, and made such a satisfying snickery sound as it cut through the grass. No stinky gas fumes, no loud motor, no dangerous flying sticks. Our yard isn’t huge, and it’s flat, so it wasn’t too bad. Took about a half-hour or so. The best part? Terri could walk along beside me and we could have a conversation as I mowed the lawn. How awesome is that?

Some other photos from the last few days:

Our first night, in the art room, which is light pink along one wall (for now). We felt so snuggly and happy. This is Katie, on the Aerobed (we moved everything else over the next day). The stencil was from the previous owner. It’s very sweet. I don’t know if I’ll keep it.

The morning after the move-in, sitting on the back patio, watching the birds, having tea, enjoying the sun.

Some other random yard photos:

This spells trouble for the birdfeeder:

I don’t know who put this gnome in the garden. It wasn’t me. I swear.

Oranges starting already!

And finally, my new glass jars for dry goods in the cabinets. I love these. This makes me really happy.

OK, enough photos for tonight. More soon as the house gets in order!

Oh, wait. One more. Adorable owl salt and pepper shakers from my mom for my birthday.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 3:26 am

    That stove is the most awesome appliance ever. And, your jars — well, let’s just say I’m having serious envy right now and am contemplating a re-do of my own cabinets ‘cuz I’m a Daphne-wanna-be right now.

    • September 21, 2010 10:54 am

      It’s pretty awesome. I love the jars!! They are working really well. I’m pretty happy with them. 🙂

  2. September 20, 2010 7:42 am

    Very nice! Love your jars!

  3. September 20, 2010 11:42 am

    ooh ooh this is so exciting. i love all your glass jars. i pick up a few everytime i go to ikea. winco has me addicted to buying bulk items and i need somewhere pretty to store said items.

    i like the stencil in the bedroom but can see how something like that could wear on you after a while.

    • September 21, 2010 10:56 am

      Aren’t they great? We are now closer to a WinCo which was partially why I needed to get some… no more bags and bags of bulk foods. The bags were taking over my kitchen.

      I think I’ll take the stencil down when I get my inspiration board up there. First I have to locate the board. 🙂

  4. September 20, 2010 7:12 pm

    More pictures please! They’re all lovely! 🙂

  5. September 20, 2010 7:32 pm

    Lovely home you have there.

    I love that old metal wash tub…and the gnome is trick.

    • September 21, 2010 10:56 am

      Thanks – I was so pleased to find that tub tucked away behind some bushes. I think it will come up to the front porch for autumn, maybe filled with some pumpkins?

  6. September 21, 2010 12:40 pm

    GNOME! Hee hee! Love the owls, and your glass jars! They just look so warm and homey.

  7. September 22, 2010 10:16 am

    Everything looks so incredible 😀 And I just love your orange tree!! We have a little satsuma tree that’s still a baby and we only have two little oranges on it this year :p Maybe next year we’ll get more. Love the garden gnome too 🙂

    • September 22, 2010 2:17 pm

      I am planning on getting a dwarf Meyer lemon tree — I think I’d better get on that, actually. Maybe this weekend. They seem to take awhile to get going.

  8. September 23, 2010 7:42 am

    I’ve been looking through your house photos and I just have to say I am (still) absolutely salivating over the kitchen! And the yard and orange tree! So excited for you and Terri to make it feel like the home you’ve been wanting forever 😀

    • September 23, 2010 7:54 am

      Thank you!! We have been wanting it forever. So wonderful!

Leave a Reply

