Skip to content

Book: The Hound of the Baskervilles

September 27, 2010

My second audiobook. I think this qualifies as an RIP book too!

Oh, I love Sherlock Holmes. I love everything about these stories. I love the old-fashioned formal writing. I love the atmospheric mysteries. I love Holmes’ arrogant, self-satisfied character. I love Dr. Watson, so easily impressed by his dear companion. I love old London and how everyone says, “Dear me!” and “Here now, old chap!”

This ushered in fall very nicely and put me in the perfect autumn mood. Nevermind that it is currently 100 degrees outside (yes, Indian summer heatwave!).

I first read Sherlock Holmes when my geometry teacher used the famous detective’s deductive reasoning to demonstrate a mathematical point. I ended up just reading Holmes stories instead of doing my homework… oh well. Ever since, I have had periodic Sherlock Holmes jags which are always incredibly satisfying.

In this, one of the more famous Holmes cases, the dynamic duo are employed by the latest in a long line of Baskervilles, after the late master of Baskerville Hall was, apparently, frightened to death, bringing the hall into the Baronet Henry Baskerville’s possession. Could it be the legend of the devilish Hound, come to life? Preposterous! Or… is it?

A cast of characters unfurls, each with their own mysterious backstory, carefully ferreted out by Watson or Holmes, and matched up to corresponding events throughout the story. The hound, when it finally makes its appearance, is indeed frightening, in a passage read with passion and great drama.

More fun than the actual mystery (which I believe I’ve read before) was the Veddy English Reader, who was full of bluster and I could almost hear him sipping tea and brandy between paragraphs. Also Arthur Conan Doyle’s writing is so much fun, full of antique polish and long, descriptive sentences. This kind of writing is so comforting. I get pulled into the story and feel completely wrapped up, as if by a cozy fire, drinking hot cider and nibbling gingersnaps, waiting to hear how the brilliant Sherlock Holmes to solve the case again.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. jmjbookblog permalink
    September 27, 2010 3:09 pm

    That brings back memories…I read that a million years ago when I was in high school…I’m going to have to reread it again one of these days during the long, cold winter. 🙂

  2. September 27, 2010 3:52 pm

    Sounds like the perfect book for audio.

  3. September 27, 2010 3:59 pm

    Good creepiness. It’s the time of year for it.

    • September 28, 2010 9:02 am

      Loved the big scary dog. I don’t usually like dog stories (could not read Cujo) but this was excellent.

  4. September 27, 2010 6:15 pm

    i havent read any holmes in a long time. i need to. sigh. so many books, so little time.

    • September 28, 2010 9:03 am

      I know. So sad. This was a pretty quick one, good to sneak in if you need a Holmes fix.

  5. September 28, 2010 2:44 am

    I really need to read some Sherlock Holmes!

  6. October 4, 2010 11:37 am

    I read this for RIP as well…love Sherlock Holmes 🙂

Leave a Reply

