Skip to content

Some Observations

September 29, 2010

(another great photo by Terri)

Tired yet of me talking about the house and everything? Me neither! Onward!

  • Man oh man is it nice to have our own washer and dryer. Check it out: the hamper gets full. We wash clothes. Right then. It’s astounding.
  • Cleo the cat is having such a good time watching all the wildlife that I feel bad for depriving her of this for so long. She remains frightened of flies, however. I know. She’s a big, bad cat.
  • Speaking of wildlife, I went outside this morning and saw that some big, heavy, DIRTY animal had bedded down on one of the lawn lounge chair cushions. Sooooo dirty and muddy. Yuck. They didn’t bother the one closest to the house, so I guess I’ll move it back (or retire it after this heat wave is over). I’m hoping the cushions are hose-able. Filthy.
  • Although the roses and lilacs are wilting in the heat, the weeds are doing just fine. I think after it’s not 1,000,000 degrees outside, I will attack them and then see about some sort of mulch. I haven’t had a yard to take care of in a really, really long time. I feel like I’m learning everything all over again. Some of the weeds are pretty and I can’t identify them yet. I guess we’ll just see if they start taking over or not.
  • Also, not having huge staircase to contend with for groceries, laundry, etc? Fabulous. The stairs were torture for Terri, and a giant pain for me, especially when I had to carry something heavy. Now it’s just two steps and we’re inside. Love.
  • The peace of mind knowing that Terri and the cats were cool when it was 105 here yesterday was also a big relief. Hooray for a/c.
  • Did I mention I went to the library over the weekend? What a great library. I feel so lucky.

I am feeling so grateful and happy these days. Even a big long commute isn’t dampening my spirits (yet). I almost feel greedy, overflowing with good things. This kitchen! This yard! A washing machine! A dishwasher! Birds! Squirrels! A quiet neighborhood! It’s almost too much. But I’ll take it all, all of it. Too much stress and hard things happening in the past few years. Sometimes, when I was feeling really bad, I feared it would never get better. So I am just bubbling over with gratefulness about the good things happening right now. Everything feels like a gift.

Except this tummy bug, keeping me home today. That gift I would like to return, please. Yuck.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2010 11:18 am

    ew, i hope you feel better soon.

    you totally deserve all the happiness you both are feeling. but i know that ‘greedy’ feeling. even though my own life is very humble right now (ahem), im so thankful for everything that i do have and finally being where we want to be.

    any ideas on what was snoozing in your lawn chair? weird.

    my thoughts on weeds: as long as they are green, they can stay. although i dont mind yardwork, im pretty low maintenance about it.

    • September 29, 2010 11:49 am

      That’s a good attitude (about the weeds). I guess I just want to keep the obvious ones under control and then see what everything else is. We have a big pile of iceplant and morning glory (where I’m thinking the chicken coop will go) that is pretty but really overgrown. It will probably come out. There are all these big glossy green leaves sprouting up all over — don’t know what they are. Maybe I’ll post a photo.

      I know — it feels so good to be in a place where you feel you belong, doesn’t it? I ‘m so happy for YOU as well. We both made a big leap this year.

    • September 29, 2010 11:49 am

      Oh, I’m thinking it was a raccoon. Or a family of raccoons, geez.

  2. September 29, 2010 5:05 pm

    The laundry situation was the main reason we bought a house. And it was my favorite part of the whole experience.

    Ironic, considering I detest laundry.

    Feel better, chica.

    • September 30, 2010 9:03 am

      The laundry situation is glorious. I’ve hated having to get quarters for laundry for the entire 10+ years I’ve lived in CA. No more! Woohoo!

  3. September 29, 2010 7:26 pm

    Definitely the laundry would bring me the most joy. I have to admit, I love doing laundry, hanging clothes out to dry — just having clean clothes around. When my washer broke earlier this month, I was so sad having to lug everything to the scooby laundry mat. Yuck. Keep enjoying homeownership.

    • September 30, 2010 9:03 am

      It makes such a huge difference! I like doing laundry, too. I love hanging it out to dry, everything smells so good!

  4. September 30, 2010 8:49 am

    Keep bubbling, it’s wonderful! Sorry you are under the weather. Hope you’re well soon!

    • September 30, 2010 9:04 am

      Bizarre mystery tummy bug is no fun, but can’t keep the happiness from bubbling over. I’m one happy cliche after the next.

  5. September 30, 2010 2:57 pm

    I’m actually creeped out by the dirty animal sleeping on your lawn furniture cushion. Seems very odd.
    YIPPPEEEEE for good house obvs and get over that bug.

Leave a Reply

