Skip to content

Status Report

October 8, 2010

Awesome photo by Terri, who is taking lots more photos than me these days:

Because I am apparently currently incapable of writing a coherent post without bullet points:

  • We all suspected this, but I am *really* into doing small house repairs. So far, anyway. Although I was nearly defeated by the caulk gun. I think I missed the part in the instructions where you are supposed to puncture the inner seal. My hands are *still* sore from trying to squeeze that darn thing.
  • I also put up a big lattice screen on the fence. A bougainvillea will be planted there in the spring. In the meantime, it just looks nice and hopefully will act as a good privacy barrier in the one place in the yard where people can see in. We like our private estate, thank you very much.
  • The house next door is currently empty. Anyone want to come be neighbors with us?
  • Terri’s birthday was Wednesday. I took the day off, made two pies (a raspberry and a chocolate), she had many wonderful gifts and well-wishes, we went on a short outing to the bird store and had a hilarious episode with a socially-challenged, very enthusiastic self-proclaimed “naturalist” there who would NOT let us get away from his stories. It was funny. A little sad, but funny. I just *know* this next year is going to be a good one for her.
  • I’m getting antsy to finish up my art room. I want to post pictures! Right now it’s partially unpacked and I have no idea where to put anything. I think I’ll work on that this weekend. I have some jack-o-lantern sculptures I want to make. Out of Sculpey, not pumpkins (although I’ll do that, too, later).
  • We are contemplating planting winter veggies. I’ve never done that. Onions, cabbages, maybe something else? Just for fun. Need to figure out where. I am puzzled by aspects of this yard. Lots of black tarps covered by bark mulch makes me think there is some ground-cover being smothered. I guess I could just dig it up and see.

I’m noticing how having a house is bringing so many other things into sharper focus. What I want, and what I don’t want, and what I don’t care about. The drifting angst of apartment-living is blessedly gone. When it’s just the two of you, and some pets, in a rented apartment, and you aren’t really the types (for various reasons, including health) to go out on the town a lot, it can get a little boxed-in. I was not at all sure what to do with myself most of the time. I’m a project sort of person. But I could never get really immersed in any longer-term projects because I felt the presence of the landlady all the time, and also our house was a refrigerator, so basically we hung out in the bedroom all the time.

But now! I have yard work! A lawn to mow! Plantings to consider! A whole room to make art! A garage to make messy art! Paint chips to compare! A new region to explore! And Terri is discovering some new hobby possibilities for herself, including photography, which I think is just about perfect. She’s getting really good, and is having a ton of fun with it. I’m so glad.

Did I mention that I’m thankful? So very.

I get overwhelmed with all the things we want to do and make and take out and put in and so forth. But it’s so much fun. I’m really, really enjoying myself.

And finally someone else at work confirmed my suspicions that maybe not everyone hates the commute as much as we’re supposed to (apparently). Hooray for audiobooks and time to wind down from the day. Although if I have a lot of errands to run after work, then I don’t love the commute so much because I get home late. But, well. I can figure out how to run my errands more efficiently.

In book news, I’m almost done (I think?) with Fragile Things, which I’ve really enjoyed although I’m feeling a bit done with the short stories now and hope it’s almost over. This is a really long book, I guess. But don’t get me wrong, I’m really enjoying it. Neil Gaiman is an amazing reader, so much fun. I’ve decided to listen to some old favorites, too — Fahrenheit 451 and Slaughterhouse Five (Vonnegut is feeling like a necessity right now), as well as the next Steig Larsson book in the trilogy. So plenty of good audio coming up.

And I’m reading Dracula In Love, which is just perfect right now. Sort of dark (but still ever-so-fluffy), a little sexy, a little mysterious, lots of fun. Sometimes these retellings can be boring and not-right. But this one is pretty enjoyable so far. I hope to finish it up this weekend, and report back.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 11:21 am

    fortunately, i love a bullet pointed blog post!

    happy belated birthday to terri!

    love the picture. it looks like it should be a jigsaw puzzle. a really hard jigsaw puzzle.

  2. Mom permalink
    October 8, 2010 3:12 pm

    Terri, loved the picture. As you know, I love country. Looking forward to seeing many more of your pictures.

  3. jmjbookblog permalink
    October 8, 2010 6:56 pm

    You sure are getting a lot accomplished and sounds like you are having lots of fun doing it! Your home sounds filled with love! šŸ™‚ The landscape is so wide open in the pix…it’s beautiful!

  4. October 9, 2010 6:25 am

    You sound so happy….I’m glad this homeownership thing is agreeing with you. And yes, it’s a great picture.

  5. October 9, 2010 12:40 pm

    Happy belated to Terri. That picture is very well done. Love the colors and the perspective.

    Owning a home…one that you love, that is…is so very awesome. You really don’t have the “need” to leave that much.

  6. October 11, 2010 7:57 am

    Love Terri’s photo! And a happy belated birthday to her! I had to laugh about the caulking gun. You two sound so happy and I am so glad for it!

Leave a Reply

