Skip to content

tiny miracles

October 22, 2010

I’m constantly amazed by how life hands you small gifts when you need them, if you open your eyes to look.

Yesterday was a long day at the MRI office for Terri. They were running an hour late. Her back was killing her. We had a long drive there, and then a long drive back. She is also having abdominal pain, crushing fatigue, not to mention pain from dropping her heavy camera on her toe (we suspect a fracture) a few days ago. Scary — at times it seems that she is literally falling apart (though she isn’t, of course). Too many things all at once. Hard to keep perspective when so many aches and pains and symptoms and struggles are looming over you. Hard for me, too, to watch the person I love suffering so much.

Today was an okay day for me. I was worried about Terri, but it was raining (which I love) and my day at work was spent working on art for a calendar we produce each year featuring art created by the people we serve, and their thoughts on life as they know it. It’s a really wonderful project, my favorite. I went to the library at lunch and got some books. I stopped at the drugstore and got some skin care products. I had a nice chat with someone in the kitchen about music.

But still I worried about Terri. A day like yesterday can set her back weeks.

Turns out she was experiencing some tiny, unexpected miracles at home. You can read about it here. What a fantastic story.

(I love this photo, from the story, so very much. I think we need to frame it.)

Watching the person you love most in the world suffer from a disease they did nothing to deserve is its own kind of hell. Being the one suffering from it is even worse. But then sometimes little things happen to tug on your sleeve and say, “Hey. Guess what? Good things around every corner, if you only look.”

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 22, 2010 7:10 pm

    im so glad you wrote about this here. terris story is beautiful and the pictures accompanying it are breathtaking.

  2. October 22, 2010 8:14 pm

    What a beautiful, moving post. The hummingbird photo is absolutely breathtaking. Thank you for the link to Terri’s blog. I truly believe in miracles. Have you ever read “Signals” by Joel Rothschild? I was fortunate to meet him in person and he autographed my book and drew a little hummingbird. He has a special love and connection to them due to the loss of a loved one also. ^j^

  3. October 23, 2010 4:35 pm

    Yes, good things do happen but it is so easy to dragged down by illness. Heck — when I get a cold, I can be a bear. I’m glad for Terri’s hummingbird sighting — just what she needed. Hang in there (that goes for both of you).

    • October 24, 2010 7:37 pm

      Illness is just no fun, and even more so when it lasts for years. Still, little signs of brightness help do wonders sometimes.

  4. October 25, 2010 12:01 pm

    What a gorgeous photo! And a lovely story at Terri’s. Hugs to you both.

  5. October 25, 2010 4:09 pm

    My mom has debilitating health issues. She’s had them my whole life. As she has aged, it has gotten even worse, to the point she can barely get out of bed.

    It is maddening to see a person you love tortured by illness.

    But you are right. Little miracles abound.

    They are there if you look hard and close enough.

Leave a Reply

